Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download PDFDownload PDF 

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment


Mr Wilkie moved—That so much of the standing orders be suspended as would prevent the Member for Denison from moving the following motion forthwith—

That the Minister for Immigration and Border Protection be censured for implying that the baby Asha was deliberately harmed as a means of facilitating asylum seeker access to Australia.

Closure of Member

Mr McCormack (Assistant Minister for Defence) moved—That the Member be no longer heard.


The House divided (the Deputy Speaker, Mr B. C. Scott, in the Chair)—

AYES, 78

Mr Abbott

Dr Gillespie

Mr McCormack

Ms F. M. Scott

Mr Alexander

Mr Goodenough

Mr Macfarlane

Mr Simpkins

Mrs K. L. Andrews

Mrs Griggs

Mrs McNamara

Dr Southcott

Mr K. J. Andrews

Mr Hartsuyker

Ms Marino

Dr Stone

Mr Baldwin

Mr Hastie

Mrs Markus

Mrs Sudmalis

Mrs B. K. Bishop

Ms Henderson

Mr Matheson

Mr Sukkar

Ms J. I. Bishop

Dr Hendy

Mr Nikolic

Mr Taylor

Mr Briggs

Mr Hogan

Mr O’Dowd

Mr Tehan

Mr Broad

Mr Howarth

Ms O’Dwyer

Mr Truss

Mr Brough

Mr Hutchinson

Mr Pasin

Mr van Manen

Mr Buchholz

Mr Irons

Mr Pitt

Mr Varvaris

Mr D. J. Chester

Dr Jensen

Mr Porter

Mr Vasta

Mr Christensen

Mr E. T. Jones

Mrs Prentice

Mr Whiteley*

Mr Cobb

Mr Joyce

Ms Price

Mrs Wicks

Mr Coleman

Mr Keenan

Mr Pyne

Mr Williams

Mr Coulton*

Mr Kelly

Mr Ramsey

Mr Wilson

Mr Dutton

Mr Laming

Mr Robert

Mr Wood

Mr Entsch

Ms M. L. Landry

Mr Wyatt Roy

Mr Wyatt

Mr Fletcher

Mr C. A. Laundy

Mr Ruddock

Mr Zimmerman

Ms Gambaro

Ms Ley


NOES, 49

Mr Albanese

Ms Claydon

Mr S. P. Jones

Ms Parke

Mr Bandt

Ms Collins

Ms King

Mr Ripoll

Ms Bird

Mr Conroy

Dr Leigh

Ms Rishworth

Mr Bowen

Mrs Elliot

Ms McGowan

Ms Rowland

Ms Brodtmann

Ms Ellis

Ms Macklin

Ms Ryan*

Ms A. E. Burke

Mr Ferguson

Ms MacTiernan

Mr Swan

Mr A. S. Burke

Mr Fitzgibbon

Mr Marles

Mr Thistlethwaite

Mr M. C. Butler

Mr Giles

Mr Mitchell

Mr Thomson

Mr Byrne

Mr Gray

Mr Neumann

Ms Vamvakinou

Dr Chalmers

Ms Hall*

Mr O’Connor

Mr Watts

Mr Champion

Mr Hayes

Ms O’Neil

Mr Wilkie

Ms L. M. Chesters

Mr Husic

Ms Owens

Mr Zappia

Mr Clare


* Tellers

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Debate ensued.

The time allowed by standing order 1 for debate on the motion having expired—


The House divided and only Mr Bandt, Ms McGowan and Mr Wilkie voting “Aye”, the Deputy Speaker (Mr B. C. Scott) declared the question resolved in the negative.