Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document


Mr Shorten (Leader of the Opposition) moved—That so much of the standing orders be suspended as would prevent the Member for Maribyrnong from moving the following motion forthwith—That the House:

(1)        notes that:

(a)        the House of Representatives is in the extraordinary position of a Government having called a new session of Parliament only to run out of legislation to debate within 12 hours of the Governor-General opening a new session; and

(b)        this is just more evidence that the Government has lost all interest in trying to govern, the only thing they are interested in is trying to stay in Government; and


(2)        in the absence of any legislative agenda, suspend standing orders to accord priority over all other business at this sitting to the following motion to be moved immediately by the Leader of the Opposition: That the House calls on the Prime Minister to request His Excellency the Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia issue Letters Patent to establish a Royal Commission to inquire into misconduct in the banking and financial services industry.

Closure of Member

Mr Pyne (Leader of the House) moved—That the Member be no longer heard.


The House divided (the Speaker, Mr A. D. H. Smith, in the Chair)—

AYES, 80

Mr Alexander

Ms Gambaro

Mr C. A. Laundy

Mr B. C. Scott

Mr K. J. Andrews

Dr Gillespie

Ms Ley

Ms F. M. Scott

Mr Baldwin

Mr Goodenough

Mr McCormack

Mr Simpkins

Mr Billson

Mrs Griggs

Mr Macfarlane

Dr Southcott

Mrs B. K. Bishop

Mr Hartsuyker

Mrs McNamara

Dr Stone

Mr Briggs

Mr Hastie

Ms Marino

Mrs Sudmalis

Mr Broad

Mr Hawke

Mrs Markus

Mr Sukkar

Mr Broadbent

Ms Henderson

Mr Matheson

Mr Taylor

Mr Brough

Dr Hendy

Mr Morrison

Mr Tehan

Mr Buchholz

Mr Hogan

Mr Nikolic

Mr Truss

Mr D. J. Chester

Mr Howarth

Mr O’Dowd

Mr Tudge

Mr Christensen

Mr Hunt

Ms O’Dwyer

Mr van Manen

Mr Ciobo

Mr Hutchinson

Mr Pitt

Mr Varvaris

Mr Cobb

Mr Irons

Mr Porter

Mr Vasta

Mr Coleman

Mr E. T. Jones

Mrs Prentice

Mr Whiteley*

Mr Coulton*

Mr Joyce

Ms Price

Mrs Wicks

Mr Dutton

Mr Keenan

Mr Pyne

Mr Williams

Mr Entsch

Mr Kelly

Mr Ramsey

Mr Wilson

Mr Fletcher

Mr Laming

Mr Robb

Mr Wood

Mr Frydenberg

Ms M. L. Landry

Mr Robert

Mr Zimmerman

NOES, 55

Mr Albanese

Ms Collins

Mr Husic

Ms Plibersek

Mr Bandt

Mr Conroy

Mr S. P. Jones

Mr Ripoll

Ms Bird

Mr Danby

Ms King

Ms Rishworth

Mr Bowen

Mr Dreyfus

Dr Leigh

Ms Rowland

Ms Brodtmann

Mrs Elliot

Ms Macklin

Ms Ryan*

Ms A. E. Burke

Ms Ellis

Ms MacTiernan

Mr Shorten

Mr A. S. Burke

Mr Feeney

Mr Marles

Mr Snowdon

Mr M. C. Butler

Mr Ferguson

Mr Mitchell

Mr Thistlethwaite

Ms T. M. Butler

Mr Fitzgibbon

Mr Neumann

Mr Thomson

Dr Chalmers

Mr Giles

Mr O’Connor

Ms Vamvakinou

Mr Champion

Mr Gray

Ms O’Neil

Mr Watts

Ms L. M. Chesters

Mr Griffin

Ms Owens

Mr Wilkie

Mr Clare

Ms Hall*

Ms Parke

Mr Zappia

Ms Claydon

Mr Hayes

Mr Perrett


* Tellers

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Debate ensued.

The time allowed by standing order 1 for debate on the motion having expired—

Question—That the motion for the suspension of standing orders be agreed to—put.

A division having been called for, in accordance with standing order 133 the division was deferred until after the matter of public importance.