Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download PDFDownload PDF 

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment

   17 Federal Circuit and Family Court of Australia Bill 2018

The order of the day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question—That the bill be now read a second time—

Debate resumed.

Question—put and passed—bill read a second time.

Message from the Governor-General

Message No. 219, 20 August 2018, from His Excellency the Governor-General was announced recommending an appropriation for the purposes of the bill.

Consideration in detail

Bill, by leave, taken as a whole.


Mr Robert (Assistant Treasurer) presented a supplementary explanatory memorandum to the bill.

On the motion of Mr Robert, by leave, Government amendments (1) to (4) were made together.

Bill, as amended, agreed to.

Consideration in detail concluded.

Leave granted for third reading to be moved immediately.

Mr Robert moved—That the bill be now read a third time.


The House divided (the Speaker, Mr A. D. H. Smith, in the Chair)—

AYES, 75

Mr Abbott

Ms Flint

Mr C. A. S. Laundy

Ms Price

Mr Alexander

Mr Frydenberg

Mr Leeser

Mr Pyne

Mrs K. L. Andrews

Mr Gee

Ms Ley

Mr Ramsey*

Mr K. J. Andrews

Dr Gillespie

Mr Littleproud

Mr Robert

Ms Banks

Mr Goodenough

Mr McCormack

Ms Sharkie

Mr Broad

Mr Hartsuyker

Ms McGowan

Mr Sukkar

Mr Broadbent

Mr Hastie

Dr McVeigh

Mr Taylor

Mr Buchholz

Mr Hawke

Mrs Marino

Mr Tehan

Mr D. J. Chester

Ms Henderson

Mr Morrison

Mr Tudge

Mr Christensen

Mr Hogan

Mr Morton

Mr van Manen

Mr Ciobo

Mr Howarth

Mr Ted O’Brien

Mr Vasta

Mr Coleman

Mr Hunt

Mr L. S. O’Brien

Mr Wallace

Mr Coulton

Mr Irons

Mr O’Dowd

Mrs Wicks

Mr Crewther

Mr Joyce

Ms O’Dwyer

Mr R. J. Wilson

Mr Drum*

Mr Katter

Mr Pasin

Mr T. R. Wilson

Mr Entsch

Mr Keenan

Dr Phelps

Mr Wood

Mr Evans

Mr C. Kelly

Mr Pitt

Mr Wyatt

Mr Falinski

Mr Laming

Mr Porter

Mr Zimmerman

Mr Fletcher

Ms M. L. Landry

Mrs Prentice




NOES, 68

Mr Albanese

Mr Conroy

Ms Keay

Mr Perrett*

Dr Aly

Mr Danby

Dr M. J. Kelly

Ms Plibersek

Mr Bandt

Mr Dick

Mr Keogh

Ms Rishworth

Ms Bird

Mr Dreyfus

Mr Khalil

Ms Rowland

Mr Bowen

Mrs Elliot

Ms C. F. King

Ms Ryan*

Ms Brodtmann

Mr Fitzgibbon

Ms M. M. H. King

Mr Shorten

Mr Burke

Dr Freelander

Ms Lamb

Mr Snowdon

Ms Burney

Mr Georganas

Dr Leigh

Ms Stanley

Mr M. C. Butler

Mr Giles

Ms McBride

Mr Swan

Ms T. M. Butler

Mr Gorman

Mr Marles

Ms Swanson

Mr Byrne

Mr Gosling

Mr B. K. Mitchell

Ms Templeman

Dr Chalmers

Mr Hart

Mr R. G. Mitchell

Mr Thistlethwaite

Mr Champion

Mr Hill

Mr Neumann

Ms Vamvakinou

Ms L. M. Chesters

Ms Husar

Mr O’Connor

Mr Watts

Mr Clare

Mr Husic

Ms O’Neil

Mr Wilkie

Ms Claydon

Mr Jones

Ms O’Toole

Mr J. H. Wilson

Ms Collins

Ms Kearney

Ms Owens

Mr Zappia

* Tellers

And so it was resolved in the affirmative—bill read a third time.