Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download PDFDownload PDF 

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment

   11 Medical and Midwife Indemnity Legislation Amendment Bill 2019

The order of the day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question—That the bill be now read a second time—

Debate resumed by Mr Bowen who moved, as an amendment—That all words after “That” be omitted with a view to substituting the following words:

“whilst not declining to give the bill a second reading, the House calls on the Government to address the lack of indemnity insurance for midwives who attend home births, as well as the lack of competition and choice in other midwifery cover”.

Debate ensued.

Question—That the amendment be agreed to—put.

The House divided (the Speaker, Mr A. D. H. Smith, in the Chair)—

AYES, 65

Mr Albanese

Mr Conroy

Dr Leigh

Ms Rowland

Dr Aly

Mr Dreyfus

Ms McBride

Ms Ryan*

Mr Bandt

Mrs Elliot

Mr Marles

Mr Shorten

Ms Bird

Dr Freelander

Mr B. K. Mitchell

Mr D. P. B. Smith

Mr Bowen

Mr Giles

Mr R. G. Mitchell

Mr Snowdon

Mr Burke

Mr Gorman

Dr Mulino

Ms Stanley*

Ms Burney

Mr Gosling

Ms Murphy

Ms Swanson

Mr Burns

Dr Haines

Mr Neumann

Ms Templeman

Mr M. C. Butler

Mr Husic

Mr O’Connor

Mr Thistlethwaite

Ms T. M. Butler

Mr Jones

Ms O’Neil

Ms Thwaites

Mr Byrne

Mr Katter

Ms Owens

Ms Vamvakinou

Dr Chalmers

Ms Kearney

Ms Payne

Mr Watts

Ms L. M. Chesters

Mr Keogh

Mr Perrett

Ms Wells

Mr Clare

Mr Khalil

Mrs Phillips

Mr Wilkie

Ms Claydon

Ms C. F. King

Ms Plibersek

Mr J. H. Wilson

Ms Coker

Ms M. M. H. King

Ms Rishworth

Mr Zappia

Ms Collins


NOES, 73

Mr Alexander

Ms Flint

Mr Littleproud

Mr Robert

Dr Allen

Mr Frydenberg

Ms Liu

Ms Sharkie

Mrs K. L. Andrews

Mr Gee

Mr McCormack

Mr Sharma

Mr K. J. Andrews

Dr Gillespie

Mrs McIntosh

Mr Simmonds

Mrs Archer

Mr Goodenough

Dr McVeigh

Ms Steggall

Ms Bell

Ms Hammond

Mrs Marino

Mr Stevens

Mr Broadbent

Mr Hastie

Dr Martin

Mr Taylor

Mr Buchholz

Mr Hawke

Mr Morrison

Mr Tehan

Mr D. J. Chester

Mr Hogan

Mr Morton

Mr Thompson

Mr Coleman

Mr Howarth

Mr Ted O’Brien

Mr Tudge

Mr Conaghan

Mr Hunt

Mr L. S. O’Brien

Mr van Manen

Mr Connelly

Mr Irons

Mr O’Dowd

Dr Webster

Mr Coulton

Mr Joyce

Mr Pasin

Mr R. J. Wilson

Mr Drum*

Mr C. Kelly

Mr Pearce

Mr T. R. Wilson

Mr Dutton

Mr Laming

Mr Pitt

Mr Wood

Mr Entsch

Ms Landry

Mr Porter

Mr Wyatt

Mr Evans

Mr Leeser

Ms Price

Mr Young

Mr Falinski

Ms Ley

Mr Ramsey*

Mr Zimmerman

Mr Fletcher


* Tellers

And so it was negatived.

Question—That the bill be now read a second time—put and passed—bill read a second time.

Message from the Governor-General

Message No. 35, 13 September 2019, from His Excellency the Governor-General was announced recommending an appropriation for the purposes of the bill.

On the motion of Mr Robert (Minister for the National Disability Insurance Scheme), by leave, the bill was read a third time.