Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download PDFDownload PDF 

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment


Ms T. M. Butler moved—That so much of the standing orders be suspended as would prevent the Member for Griffith from moving the following motion forthwith—That the House:

(1)        notes:

(a)        the Prime Minister has previously said he supports a free vote on marriage equality;

(b)        former Prime Minister John Howard supports a free vote on marriage equality;

(c)        members of the Prime Minister’s own party have said that they would not respect the result of the Prime Minister’s plebiscite on marriage equality;

(d)        a plebiscite on marriage equality would cause a divisive national debate, which would harm community cohesion and give voice to extreme bigotry; and

(e)        lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and intersex Australians and their families are just as valued as every other member of the Australian community;

(2)        calls on the Prime Minister to be the Prime Minister that Australians hoped he would be and allow a free vote in the Parliament on marriage equality; and

(3)        suspends so much of the standing and sessional orders as would prevent private Members’ business order of the day No. 1 in the Federation Chamber relating to the Marriage Legislation Amendment Bill 2015, being returned to the House for further consideration, being called on immediately and being given priority over all other business for passage through all stages by no later than 6.30 pm on Wednesday, 2 March 2016, with the question on the second reading being put immediately.

Debate ensued.

The time allowed by standing order 1 for debate on the motion having expired—


The House divided (the Deputy Speaker, Mr B. C. Scott, in the Chair)—

AYES, 57

Mr Albanese

Ms Collins

Mr Husic

Ms Plibersek

Mr Bandt

Mr Conroy

Mr S. P. Jones

Mr Ripoll

Ms Bird

Mr Danby

Ms King

Ms Rishworth

Mr Bowen

Mr Dreyfus

Dr Leigh

Ms Rowland

Ms Brodtmann

Mrs Elliot

Ms Macklin

Ms Ryan*

Ms A. E. Burke

Ms Ellis

Ms MacTiernan

Mr Shorten

Mr A. S. Burke

Mr Feeney

Mr Marles

Mr Snowdon

Mr M. C. Butler

Mr Ferguson

Mr Mitchell

Mr Swan

Ms T. M. Butler

Mr Fitzgibbon

Mr Neumann

Mr Thistlethwaite

Mr Byrne

Mr Giles

Mr O’Connor

Mr Thomson

Dr Chalmers

Mr Gray

Ms O’Neil

Ms Vamvakinou

Mr Champion

Mr Griffin

Ms Owens

Mr Watts

Ms L. M. Chesters

Ms Hall*

Ms Parke

Mr Wilkie

Mr Clare

Mr Hayes

Mr Perrett

Mr Zappia

Ms Claydon




NOES, 83

Mr Abbott

Mr Fletcher

Mr Laming

Mr Wyatt Roy

Mr Alexander

Mr Frydenberg

Ms M. L. Landry

Ms F. M. Scott

Mrs K. L. Andrews

Ms Gambaro

Mr C. A. Laundy

Mr Simpkins

Mr K. J. Andrews

Dr Gillespie

Ms Ley

Dr Southcott

Mr Baldwin

Mr Goodenough

Mr McCormack

Dr Stone

Mr Billson

Mrs Griggs

Mr Macfarlane

Mrs Sudmalis

Mrs B. K. Bishop

Mr Hartsuyker

Mrs McNamara

Mr Sukkar

Ms J. I. Bishop

Mr Hastie

Ms Marino

Mr Taylor

Mr Briggs

Mr Hawke

Mrs Markus

Mr Tehan

Mr Broad

Ms Henderson

Mr Matheson

Mr Truss

Mr Broadbent

Dr Hendy

Mr Morrison

Mr Tudge

Mr Brough

Mr Hogan

Mr Nikolic

Mr van Manen

Mr Buchholz

Mr Howarth

Ms O’Dwyer

Mr Varvaris

Mr D. J. Chester

Mr Hunt

Mr Pasin

Mr Whiteley*

Mr Christensen

Mr Hutchinson

Mr Pitt

Mrs Wicks

Mr Ciobo

Mr Irons

Mr Porter

Mr Williams

Mr Cobb

Dr Jensen

Mrs Prentice

Mr Wilson

Mr Coleman

Mr E. T. Jones

Ms Price

Mr Wood

Mr Coulton*

Mr Joyce

Mr Pyne

Mr Wyatt

Mr Dutton

Mr Keenan

Mr Ramsey

Mr Zimmerman

Mr Entsch

Mr Kelly

Mr Robert


* Tellers

And so it was negatived.