Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment


The order of the day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question—That the Bill be now read a second time—And on the amendment moved thereto by Mr Crean, viz.—That all words after "That" be omitted with a view to substituting the following words: "whilst not declining to give the Bill a second reading, the House condemns the Government for:

(1) failing to provide tax relief to 4 out of 5 taxpayers;

(2) providing less in income tax cuts than it will collect in bracket creep in each of the years 2004-05, 2005-06, 2006-07 and 2007-08; and

(3) continuing to be the highest taxing Government in Australia's history"—

Debate resumed.


Ms Hoare, by leave, presented the following paper:

Tax effective investment schemes—Koala Hydroponics Scheme—Extract from paper, pages 4 to 14.

Debate continued.

Question—That the words proposed to be omitted stand part of the question—put.

The House divided (the Deputy Speaker, Mr Mossfield, in the Chair)—

AYES, 78

Mr AbbottMrs DraperDr KempMr Secker
Mr AndersonMr DuttonMr P. E. KingMr Slipper
Mr K. J. AndrewsMrs ElsonMrs LeyMr A. D. H. Smith
Mr AnthonyMr EntschMr LindsayMr Somlyay
Fran BaileyMr FarmerMr LloydDr Southcott
Mr BairdMr Forrest*Mr McArthur*Dr Stone
Mr BaldwinMrs GallusMr I. E. MacfarlaneMr C. P. Thompson
Mr BarresiMs GambaroMr McGauranMr Ticehurst
Mr BartlettMrs GashMrs MayMr Tollner
Mr BillsonMr GeorgiouMrs MoylanMr Truss
Mrs B. K. BishopMr HaaseMr NairnMr Tuckey
Ms J. I. BishopMr HardgraveDr NelsonMr M. A. J. Vaile
Mr BroughMr HawkerMr NevilleMrs D. S. Vale
Mr CadmanMr HockeyMs PanopoulosMr Wakelin
Mr CameronMrs HullMr ProsserDr Washer
Mr CausleyMr HuntMr PyneMr Williams
Mr CioboMr JohnsonMr RandallMr Windsor
Mr CobbMr JullMr RuddockMs Worth
Mr CostelloMr KatterMr Schultz
Mr DownerJackie KellyMr Scott

NOES, 59

Mr AdamsMr L. D. T. FergusonMs C. F. KingMr Quick*
Mr AlbaneseMr M. J. FergusonDr LawrenceMr Ripoll
Mr BeazleyMr FitzgibbonMs LivermoreMs Roxon
Mr BevisMs GeorgeMr McClellandMr Rudd
Mr BreretonMr GibbonsMs MacklinMr Sciacca
Ms BurkeMs GillardMr McLeayMr Sercombe
Mr ByrneMs GriersonMr McMullanMr Sidebottom
Ms CorcoranMr GriffinMr MelhamMr S. F. Smith
Mr CoxMs HallMr MurphyMr Snowdon
Mr CreanMr HattonMs O'ByrneMr Tanner
Mrs CrosioMs HoareMr B. P. O'ConnorMr K. J. Thomson
Mr Danby*Mrs IrwinMr G. M. O'ConnorMs Vamvakinou
Mr EdwardsMs JacksonMr OrganMr Wilkie
Mr EmersonMr JenkinsMs PlibersekMr Zahra
Mr EvansMr KerrMr Price

* Tellers

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Question—That the Bill be now read a second time—put and passed—Bill read a second time.

Leave granted for third reading to be moved forthwith.

On the motion of Mr Cameron (Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasurer), the Bill was read a third time.