Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document


Questions without notice being asked—


Mr Rudd, by leave, presented the following paper:

Transcript of press conference, The Pierre, New York—Mr Howard, Prime Minister, 4 May 2003.

Questions without notice continuing—


Mr Tanner, by leave, presented the following papers:

Regional telecommunications inquiry—

Australian Government community information campaign in response to inquiry—Draft media plan by Universal McCann, June-August 2004.

Campaign research summary brief—Paper by Quantum Market Research, December 2003.

Community information campaign 2004—Paper by Department of Communications, Information Technology and the Arts.

Questions without notice continuing—

Member ordered to withdraw

At 2.31 p.m. the Member for Grayndler (Mr Albanese) was ordered, under standing order 304A, to withdraw from the House for one hour for continuing to interject after a warning had been given from the Chair.

Member named and suspended

The Speaker named the Member for Grayndler (Mr Albanese) for disorderly behaviour in the process of withdrawing from the House.

Mr Abbott (Leader of the House) moved—That the Member for Grayndler be suspended from the service of the House.


The House divided (the Speaker, Mr J. N. Andrew, in the Chair)—

AYES, 81

Mr AbbottMr DownerDr KempMr Secker
Mr AndersonMr DuttonMr P. E. KingMr Slipper
Mr AndrenMrs ElsonMrs LeyMr A. D. H. Smith
Mr K. J. AndrewsMr EntschMr LindsayMr Somlyay
Mr AnthonyMr FarmerMr LloydDr Southcott
Fran BaileyMr Forrest*Mr McArthur*Dr Stone
Mr BairdMrs GallusMr I. E. MacfarlaneMr C. P. Thompson
Mr BaldwinMs GambaroMr McGauranMr Ticehurst
Mr BarresiMrs GashMrs MayMr Tollner
Mr BartlettMr GeorgiouMrs MoylanMr Truss
Mr BillsonMr HaaseMr NairnMr Tuckey
Mrs B. K. BishopMr HardgraveDr NelsonMr M. A. J. Vaile
Ms J. I. BishopMr HartsuykerMr NevilleMrs D. S. Vale
Mr BroughMr HawkerMs PanopoulosMr Wakelin
Mr CadmanMr HockeyMr PearceDr Washer
Mr CameronMr HowardMr ProsserMr Williams
Mr CausleyMr HuntMr PyneMr Windsor
Mr CharlesMr JohnsonMr RandallMs Worth
Mr CioboMr JullMr Ruddock
Mr CobbMrs D. M. KellyMr Schultz
Mr CostelloJackie KellyMr Scott

NOES, 60

Mr AdamsMr M. J. FergusonMr LathamMr Price
Mr AlbaneseMr FitzgibbonDr LawrenceMr Quick*
Mr BevisMs GeorgeMs LivermoreMr Ripoll
Mr BreretonMr GibbonsMr McClellandMs Roxon
Ms BurkeMs GillardMs MacklinMr Rudd
Mr ByrneMs GriersonMr McLeayMr Sciacca
Ms CorcoranMr GriffinMr McMullanMr Sercombe
Mr CoxMs HallMr MelhamMr Sidebottom
Mr CreanMr HattonMr MossfieldMr S. F. Smith
Mrs CrosioMs HoareMr MurphyMr Snowdon
Mr Danby*Mrs IrwinMs O'ByrneMr Swan
Mr EdwardsMs JacksonMr B. P. O'ConnorMr Tanner
Mr EmersonMr JenkinsMr G. M. O'ConnorMr K. J. Thomson
Mr EvansMr KerrMr OrganMr Wilkie
Mr L. D. T. FergusonMs C. F. KingMs PlibersekMr Zahra

* Tellers

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

The Member was, therefore, suspended at 2.38 p.m. for 24 hours under standing order 305, and he accordingly withdrew from the Chamber.

Questions without notice continued.