Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document


Questions without notice being asked—


Mr Costello (Treasurer) presented the following papers:

Superannuation reform—Copy of speech by Mr Latham, Leader of the Opposition, 15 March 2004.

Superannuation: Setting a Goal—Labor Policy Paper by Mr Latham, Leader of the Opposition and Senator Nick Sherry, Shadow Minister for Retirement Incomes and Savings, March 2004.

Questions without notice continuing—

Prime Minister—Motion of censure

Mr Latham (Leader of the Opposition), by leave, moved—That this House censures the Prime Minister for:

(1) political interference in the work of the Australian Federal Police in an attempt to compromise the public standing and independence of its Commissioner;

(2) failing to rule out further political interference with the Australian Federal Police in the future; and

(3) jeopardising Australia's national security by playing politics with the Australian Federal Police rather than putting Australia's national security first.

Debate ensued.

Member ordered to withdraw

At 3.31 p.m. the Member for Denison (Mr Kerr) was ordered, under standing order 304A, to withdraw from the House for one hour for continually interjecting, and he accordingly withdrew from the Chamber.

Debate continued.


The House divided (the Speaker, Mr J. N. Andrew, in the Chair)—

AYES, 59

Mr AdamsMr FitzgibbonMs LivermoreMr Ripoll
Mr AlbaneseMs GeorgeMr McClellandMs Roxon
Mr BevisMr GibbonsMs MacklinMr Rudd
Mr BreretonMs GillardMr McLeayMr Sawford
Ms BurkeMs GriersonMr McMullanMr Sciacca
Mr ByrneMr GriffinMr MelhamMr Sercombe
Ms CorcoranMs HallMr MossfieldMr Sidebottom
Mr CoxMr HattonMr MurphyMr Snowdon
Mr CreanMs HoareMs O'ByrneMr Swan
Mr Danby*Mrs IrwinMr B. P. O'ConnorMr Tanner
Mr EdwardsMs JacksonMr G. M. O'ConnorMr K. J. Thomson
Mr EmersonMr JenkinsMr OrganMs Vamvakinou
Mr EvansMs C. F. KingMs PlibersekMr Wilkie
Mr L. D. T. FergusonMr LathamMr PriceMr Zahra
Mr M. J. FergusonDr LawrenceMr Quick*

NOES, 75

Mr AbbottMr CostelloJackie KellyMr Ruddock
Mr AndersonMr DownerDr KempMr Scott
Mr K. J. AndrewsMr DuttonMr P. E. KingMr Secker
Mr AnthonyMrs ElsonMrs LeyMr Slipper
Fran BaileyMr EntschMr LindsayMr A. D. H. Smith
Mr BairdMr FarmerMr LloydMr Somlyay
Mr BaldwinMr Forrest*Mr McArthur*Dr Southcott
Mr BarresiMs GambaroMr I. E. MacfarlaneDr Stone
Mr BartlettMrs GashMr McGauranMr Ticehurst
Mr BillsonMr GeorgiouMrs MayMr Tollner
Mrs B. K. BishopMr HaaseMrs MoylanMr Truss
Ms J. I. BishopMr HardgraveMr NairnMr Tuckey
Mr BroughMr HartsuykerDr NelsonMr M. A. J. Vaile
Mr CadmanMr HawkerMr NevilleMrs D. S. Vale
Mr CameronMr HockeyMs PanopoulosMr Wakelin
Mr CausleyMr HuntMr PearceDr Washer
Mr CharlesMr JohnsonMr ProsserMr Williams
Mr CioboMr JullMr PyneMs Worth
Mr CobbMrs D. M. KellyMr Randall

* Tellers

And so it was negatived.

Questions without notice concluded.