Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment


Questions without notice being asked—


Mr Abbott (Minister representing the Special Minister of State) presented the following paper:

Application for ALP membership, Ahmad El Dirani, 5 May 1999.

Questions without notice continuing—


Mr Latham, in accordance with standing order 321, having called for documents quoted from by Mr Abbott—

Mr Abbott presented the following papers:

Campaign donation—Letter from Laurie Ferguson, MP, to Karim Kisrwani, 25 September 1998.

A street brawl among Left's men of letters—Copy of article by Alan Ramsey, The Sydney Morning Herald, 31 March 2001.

Questions without notice continuing—

Suspension of standing and sessional orders moved

Ms Gillard moved—That so much of the standing and sessional orders be suspended as would prevent the Member for Lalor moving forthwith—That this House censures the Howard Government and the Minister for Immigration, Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs for:

(1) failing to refer to the Federal Police for investigation the allegation that Dante Tan paid Mr Kisrwani the sum of $220,000 in exchange for Mr Kisrwani using his influence to stop the cancellation of Mr Dante Tan's visa;

(2) failing to properly explain the awarding of permanent residency and citizenship to Dante Tan, the Philippines most-wanted corporate fugitive, following a donation of $10,000 to the Liberal Party from Mr Tan;

(3) failing to properly explain the inappropriate and recurring involvement of Mr Karim Kisrwani in a large number of migration cases where applicants have sought Ministerial intervention in the awarding of a visa and most especially that of Dante Tan and Bedweny Hbeiche; and

(4) for continuing to undermine the integrity and honesty of Australia's migration system via his awarding of visas following donations to the Liberal Party.

Debate ensued.

The time allowed by standing order 91 for debate on the motion having expired—

Question—That the motion for the suspension of standing and sessional orders be agreed to—put.

The House divided (the Speaker, Mr J. N. Andrew, in the Chair)—

AYES, 64

Mr AdamsMr L. D. T. FergusonMr LathamMr Quick*
Mr AlbaneseMr M. J. FergusonDr LawrenceMr Ripoll
Mr BeazleyMr FitzgibbonMs LivermoreMs Roxon
Mr BevisMs GeorgeMr McClellandMr Rudd
Mr BreretonMr GibbonsMs J. S. McFarlaneMr Sawford
Ms BurkeMs GillardMs MacklinMr Sciacca
Mr ByrneMs GriersonMr McLeayMr Sercombe
Ms CorcoranMr GriffinMr McMullanMr Sidebottom
Mr CoxMs HallMr MelhamMr S. F. Smith
Mr CreanMr HattonMr MossfieldMr Snowdon
Mrs CrosioMs HoareMr MurphyMr Swan
Mr Danby*Mrs IrwinMs O'ByrneMr Tanner
Mr EdwardsMs JacksonMr B. P. O'ConnorMr K. J. Thomson
Ms EllisMr JenkinsMr G. M. O'ConnorMs Vamvakinou
Mr EmersonMr KerrMs PlibersekMr Wilkie
Mr EvansMs C. F. KingMr PriceMr Zahra

NOES, 79

Mr AbbottMrs DraperMrs D. M. KellyMr Scott
Mr AndersonMr DuttonJackie KellyMr Secker
Mr K. J. AndrewsMrs ElsonDr KempMr Slipper
Mr AnthonyMr EntschMr P. E. KingMr A. D. H. Smith
Fran BaileyMr FarmerMrs LeyMr Somlyay
Mr BairdMr Forrest*Mr LindsayDr Southcott
Mr BaldwinMrs GallusMr LloydDr Stone
Mr BarresiMs GambaroMr McArthur*Mr C. P. Thompson
Mr BartlettMrs GashMrs MayMr Ticehurst
Mr BillsonMr GeorgiouMrs MoylanMr Tollner
Mrs B. K. BishopMr HaaseMr NairnMr Truss
Ms J. I. BishopMr HardgraveDr NelsonMr Tuckey
Mr CadmanMr HartsuykerMr NevilleMr M. A. J. Vaile
Mr CameronMr HawkerMs PanopoulosMrs D. S. Vale
Mr CausleyMr HockeyMr PearceMr Wakelin
Mr CharlesMr HowardMr ProsserDr Washer
Mr CioboMrs HullMr PyneMr Williams
Mr CobbMr HuntMr RandallMr Windsor
Mr CostelloMr JohnsonMr RuddockMs Worth
Mr DownerMr JullMr Schultz

* Tellers

And so it was negatived.

Questions without notice concluded.