Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment


The order of the day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question—That the Bill be now read a second time—

Debate resumed by Mr Swan who moved, as an amendment—That all words after "That" be omitted with a view to substituting the following words: "the House declines to give the Bill a second reading, and

(1) condemns the Howard Government's attempt to deny Disability Support Pensions to more than 100,000 Australians living with a disability over the next three years;

(2) condemns the Government's attempt to create two classes of people with disabilities by seeking to pay many of those who apply for a Disability Support Pension after 1 July 2003, $60.20 a fortnight less than people currently receiving the payment;

(3) endorses the view of the ALP supporting the need for welfare reforms that offer the opportunity for people with disabilities to participate fully in the community, including to work;

(4) refuses to support Government cost cutting that will discourage people with a disability from seeking employment; and

(5) calls on the Government to work with the ALP on a bipartisan basis to achieve real welfare reform".

Debate continued.

Question—That the words proposed to be omitted stand part of the question—put.

The House divided (the Speaker, Mr J. N. Andrew, in the Chair)—

AYES, 76

Mr AbbottMr DownerJackie KellyMr Schultz
Mr AndersonMr DuttonDr KempMr Scott
Mr AnthonyMrs ElsonMr P. E. KingMr Secker
Fran BaileyMr Forrest*Mrs LeyMr Slipper
Mr BairdMrs GallusMr LindsayMr A. D. H. Smith
Mr BaldwinMs GambaroMr McArthur*Mr Somlyay
Mr BarresiMrs GashMr I. E. MacfarlaneDr Southcott
Mr BartlettMr GeorgiouMr McGauranDr Stone
Mr BillsonMr HaaseMrs MayMr C. P. Thompson
Mrs B. K. BishopMr HardgraveMrs MoylanMr Ticehurst
Ms J. I. BishopMr HartsuykerMr NairnMr Tollner
Mr BroughMr HawkerDr NelsonMr Truss
Mr CadmanMr HockeyMr NevilleMr Tuckey
Mr CameronMrs HullMs PanopoulosMrs D. S. Vale
Mr CausleyMr HuntMr PearceMr Wakelin
Mr CharlesMr JohnsonMr ProsserDr Washer
Mr CioboMr JullMr PyneMr Williams
Mr CobbMr KatterMr RandallMr Windsor
Mr CostelloMrs D. M. KellyMr RuddockMs Worth

NOES, 60

Mr AdamsMr M. J. FergusonDr LawrenceMr Quick*
Mr AlbaneseMr FitzgibbonMr McClellandMr Ripoll
Mr BevisMs GeorgeMs J. S. McFarlaneMs Roxon
Mr BreretonMr GibbonsMs MacklinMr Rudd
Ms BurkeMs GillardMr McLeayMr Sawford
Mr ByrneMr GriffinMr McMullanMr Sercombe
Ms CorcoranMs HallMr MelhamMr Sidebottom
Mr CoxMr HattonMr MossfieldMr S. F. Smith
Mr CreanMs HoareMr MurphyMr Snowdon
Mr Danby*Mrs IrwinMs O'ByrneMr Swan
Mr EdwardsMs JacksonMr B. P. O'ConnorMr Tanner
Ms EllisMr JenkinsMr G. M. O'ConnorMr K. J. Thomson
Mr EmersonMr KerrMr OrganMs Vamvakinou
Mr EvansMs C. F. KingMs PlibersekMr Wilkie
Mr L. D. T. FergusonMr LathamMr PriceMr Zahra

* Tellers

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

It being 2 p.m., the debate was interrupted in accordance with standing order 101A, and the resumption of the debate made an order of the day for a later hour this day.