Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document


The order of the day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question—That the Bill be now read a second time—And on the amendment moved thereto by Mr McClelland, viz.—That all words after "That" be omitted with a view to substituting the following words: "whilst supporting the particular amendments proposed in the Bill, the House calls on the Government to support all the legislative amendments and other actions necessary to give effect to the recommendations of the Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Commission in its report Pregnant and Productive: It's a right not a privilege to work while pregnant"—

Debate resumed.

Amendment negatived.

Question—That the Bill be now read a second time—put and passed—Bill read a second time.

Consideration in detail

Bill, by leave, taken as a whole.

Ms Macklin (Deputy Leader of the Opposition), by leave, moved Opposition amendments (1) to (37) together.

Debate continued.

Question—That the amendments be agreed to—put.

The House divided (the Deputy Speaker, Mr Scott, in the Chair)—

AYES, 62

Mr AdamsMr L. D. T. FergusonMr LathamMr Ripoll
Mr AlbaneseMr M. J. FergusonDr LawrenceMs Roxon
Mr BeazleyMr FitzgibbonMr McClellandMr Sawford
Mr BevisMs GeorgeMs J. S. McFarlaneMr Sciacca
Mr BreretonMr GibbonsMs MacklinMr Sercombe
Ms BurkeMs GillardMr McLeayMr Sidebottom
Mr ByrneMs GriersonMr MelhamMr S. F. Smith
Ms CorcoranMr GriffinMr MossfieldMr Snowdon
Mr CoxMs HallMr MurphyMr Swan
Mr CreanMr HattonMs O'ByrneMr Tanner
Mrs CrosioMs HoareMr B. P. O'ConnorMr K. J. Thomson
Mr Danby*Mrs IrwinMr G. M. O'ConnorMs Vamvakinou
Mr EdwardsMs JacksonMr OrganMr Wilkie
Ms EllisMr JenkinsMs PlibersekMr Zahra
Mr EmersonMr KerrMr Price
Mr EvansMs C. F. KingMr Quick*

NOES, 78

Mr AbbottMrs DraperJackie KellyMr Schultz
Mr K. J. AndrewsMr DuttonDr KempMr Secker
Mr AnthonyMrs ElsonMr P. E. KingMr Slipper
Fran BaileyMr EntschMrs LeyMr A. D. H. Smith
Mr BairdMr FarmerMr LindsayDr Southcott
Mr BaldwinMr Forrest*Mr LloydDr Stone
Mr BarresiMrs GallusMr McArthur*Mr C. P. Thompson
Mr BartlettMs GambaroMr I. E. MacfarlaneMr Ticehurst
Mr BillsonMrs GashMr McGauranMr Tollner
Mrs B. K. BishopMr GeorgiouMrs MayMr Truss
Ms J. I. BishopMr HaaseMrs MoylanMr Tuckey
Mr BroughMr HardgraveMr NairnMr M. A. J. Vaile
Mr CadmanMr HartsuykerDr NelsonMrs D. S. Vale
Mr CameronMr HawkerMr NevilleMr Wakelin
Mr CausleyMrs HullMs PanopoulosDr Washer
Mr CharlesMr HuntMr PearceMr Williams
Mr CioboMr JohnsonMr ProsserMr Windsor
Mr CobbMr JullMr PyneMs Worth
Mr CostelloMr KatterMr Randall
Mr DownerMrs D. M. KellyMr Ruddock

* Tellers

And so it was negatived.

Bill agreed to.

Consideration in detail concluded.

On the motion of Dr Stone (Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for the Environment and Heritage), by leave, the Bill was read a third time.