Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document


Questions without notice being asked—


Mr Hockey (Minister for Small Business and Tourism) presented the following paper:

List of legislation by State and Territory relating to insurance.


Mr Latham, by leave, presented the following papers:

GIO privatisation—

Questions and Answers—Extract from New South Wales Legislative Assembly Estimates Committees, October and November 1992.

Selection of advertising agency—Paper by Joe Hockey, Policy Adviser, Convenor-GIO Privatisation Communications Committee, 19 December 1991.

Questions without notice continuing—


Mr Tanner, by leave, presented the following paper:

Telstra Corporation—Paper by GICS Integrated Telecommunication Services, 26 April 2002.

Questions without notice continuing—

Mr Adams asking a question—

Speaker's ruling

The Speaker ruled that the question was out of order.

Dissent from ruling moved

Mr Swan moved—That the ruling be dissented from.

Member named and suspended

The Speaker named the Member for Batman (Mr M. J. Ferguson) for continuing to interject after having been warned by the Chair.

Mr Abbott (Leader of the House) moved—That the Member for Batman be suspended from the service of the House.


The House divided (the Speaker, Mr J. N. Andrew, in the Chair)—

AYES, 77

Mr AbbottMr DownerMr JullMr Randall
Mr AndersonMrs DraperMr KatterMr Ruddock
Mr K. J. AndrewsMr DuttonMrs D. M. KellyMr Scott
Mr AnthonyMrs ElsonDr KempMr Secker
Fran BaileyMr EntschMr P. E. KingMr Slipper
Mr BairdMr FarmerMrs LeyMr A. D. H. Smith
Mr BaldwinMr Forrest*Mr LindsayMr Somlyay
Mr BarresiMrs GallusMr LloydDr Southcott
Mr BartlettMs GambaroMr McArthur*Mr C. P. Thompson
Mr BillsonMrs GashMr I. E. MacfarlaneMr Ticehurst
Mrs B. K. BishopMr GeorgiouMr McGauranMr Tollner
Ms J. I. BishopMr HaaseMrs MayMr Truss
Mr BroughMr HardgraveMrs MoylanMr Tuckey
Mr CadmanMr HartsuykerMr NairnMr Wakelin
Mr CameronMr HawkerDr NelsonDr Washer
Mr CausleyMr HockeyMr NevilleMr Williams
Mr CharlesMr HowardMs PanopoulosMs Worth
Mr CioboMrs HullMr Pearce
Mr CobbMr HuntMr Prosser
Mr CostelloMr JohnsonMr Pyne

NOES, 63

Mr AdamsMr FitzgibbonMs LivermoreMr Ripoll
Mr BeazleyMs GeorgeMr McClellandMs Roxon
Mr BevisMr GibbonsMs J. S. McFarlaneMr Rudd
Mr BreretonMs GillardMs MacklinMr Sawford
Mr ByrneMs GriersonMr McLeayMr Sciacca
Ms CorcoranMr GriffinMr McMullanMr Sercombe
Mr CoxMs HallDr MartinMr Sidebottom
Mr CreanMr HattonMr MelhamMr S. F. Smith
Mrs CrosioMs HoareMr MossfieldMr Snowdon
Mr Danby*Mrs IrwinMr MurphyMr Swan
Mr EdwardsMs JacksonMs O'ByrneMr Tanner
Ms EllisMr JenkinsMr B. P. O'ConnorMr K. J. Thomson
Mr EmersonMr KerrMr G. M. O'ConnorMs Vamvakinou
Mr EvansMs C. F. KingMs PlibersekMr Wilkie
Mr L. D. T. FergusonMr LathamMr PriceMr Zahra
Mr M. J. FergusonDr LawrenceMr Quick*

* Tellers

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

The Member was, therefore, suspended at 3.36 p.m. for 24 hours under standing order 305, and he accordingly withdrew from the Chamber.

Debate ensued on the motion of dissent.

Question—That the Speaker's ruling be dissented from—put.

The House divided (the Speaker, Mr J. N. Andrew, in the Chair)—

AYES, 63

Mr AdamsMr FitzgibbonMs LivermoreMs Roxon
Mr AndrenMs GeorgeMr McClellandMr Rudd
Mr BeazleyMr GibbonsMs J. S. McFarlaneMr Sawford
Mr BevisMs GillardMs MacklinMr Sciacca
Mr BreretonMs GriersonMr McLeayMr Sercombe
Mr ByrneMr GriffinDr MartinMr Sidebottom
Ms CorcoranMs HallMr MelhamMr S. F. Smith
Mr CoxMr HattonMr MossfieldMr Snowdon
Mr CreanMs HoareMr MurphyMr Swan
Mrs CrosioMrs IrwinMs O'ByrneMr Tanner
Mr Danby*Ms JacksonMr B. P. O'ConnorMr K. J. Thomson
Mr EdwardsMr JenkinsMr G. M. O'ConnorMs Vamvakinou
Ms EllisMr KerrMs PlibersekMr Wilkie
Mr EmersonMs C. F. KingMr PriceMr Windsor
Mr EvansMr LathamMr Quick*Mr Zahra
Mr L. D. T. FergusonDr LawrenceMr Ripoll

NOES, 76

Mr AbbottMr CostelloMr HuntMr Prosser
Mr AndersonMr DownerMr JohnsonMr Pyne
Mr K. J. AndrewsMrs DraperMr JullMr Randall
Mr AnthonyMr DuttonMrs D. M. KellyMr Ruddock
Fran BaileyMrs ElsonDr KempMr Scott
Mr BairdMr EntschMr P. E. KingMr Secker
Mr BaldwinMr FarmerMrs LeyMr Slipper
Mr BarresiMr Forrest*Mr LindsayMr A. D. H. Smith
Mr BartlettMrs GallusMr LloydMr Somlyay
Mr BillsonMs GambaroMr McArthur*Dr Southcott
Mrs B. K. BishopMrs GashMr I. E. MacfarlaneMr C. P. Thompson
Ms J. I. BishopMr GeorgiouMr McGauranMr Ticehurst
Mr BroughMr HaaseMrs MayMr Tollner
Mr CadmanMr HardgraveMrs MoylanMr Truss
Mr CameronMr HartsuykerMr NairnMr Tuckey
Mr CausleyMr HawkerDr NelsonMr Wakelin
Mr CharlesMr HockeyMr NevilleDr Washer
Mr CioboMr HowardMs PanopoulosMr Williams
Mr CobbMrs HullMr PearceMs Worth

* Tellers

And so it was negatived.

Questions without notice concluded.