Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment


Questions without notice being asked—

Prime Minister—Motion of censure

Mr Crean (Leader of the Opposition), by leave, moved—That this House censures the Prime Minister for:

(1) his failure to ensure that his own Guide to Key Elements of Ministerial Responsibilitywas upheld in the period from 7 October to 10 November 2001, in particular that Ministers must be honest in their dealings;

(2) his failure to make further inquiries on or after 10 October 2001 as promised into the allegations that:

 (a) children may not have been thrown overboard from the SIEV 4 as first alleged on 7 October 2001; and

(b) the photographs released by the Minister for Defence may have misrepresented events on the SIEV 4 on 7 and 8 October 2001;

(3) his, and his government's, repeated efforts to cover up the facts surrounding the allegation of children being thrown overboard from the SIEV 4 on 7 October 2001.

Debate ensued.


The House divided (the Speaker, Mr J. N. Andrew, in the Chair)—

AYES, 66

Mr AdamsMr L. D. T. FergusonDr LawrenceMr Ripoll
Mr AlbaneseMr M. J. FergusonMs LivermoreMs Roxon
Mr AndrenMr FitzgibbonMr McClellandMr Rudd
Mr BeazleyMs GeorgeMs J. S. McFarlaneMr Sawford
Mr BevisMr GibbonsMs MacklinMr Sciacca
Mr BreretonMs GillardMr McLeayMr Sercombe
Ms BurkeMs GriersonMr McMullanMr Sidebottom
Mr ByrneMr GriffinDr MartinMr S. F. Smith
Ms CorcoranMs HallMr MelhamMr Snowdon
Mr CoxMr HattonMr MossfieldMr Swan
Mr CreanMs HoareMr MurphyMr Tanner
Mrs CrosioMrs IrwinMs O'ByrneMr K. J. Thomson
Mr Danby*Ms JacksonMr B. P. O'ConnorMs Vamvakinou
Mr EdwardsMr JenkinsMr G. M. O'ConnorMr Wilkie
Ms EllisMr KerrMs PlibersekMr Zahra
Mr EmersonMs C. F. KingMr Price
Mr EvansMr LathamMr Quick*

NOES, 80

Mr AbbottMrs DraperMr KatterMr Ruddock
Mr AndersonMr DuttonMrs D. M. KellyMr Schultz
Mr K. J. AndrewsMrs ElsonJackie KellyMr Scott
Mr AnthonyMr EntschDr KempMr Secker
Fran BaileyMr FarmerMr P. E. KingMr Slipper
Mr BairdMr Forrest*Mrs LeyMr A. D. H. Smith
Mr BaldwinMrs GallusMr LindsayMr Somlyay
Mr BarresiMs GambaroMr LloydDr Southcott
Mr BartlettMrs GashMr McArthur*Dr Stone
Mr BillsonMr GeorgiouMr I. E. MacfarlaneMr C. P. Thompson
Mrs B. K. BishopMr HaaseMr McGauranMr Ticehurst
Ms J. I. BishopMr HardgraveMrs MayMr Tollner
Mr BroughMr HartsuykerMrs MoylanMr Truss
Mr CadmanMr HawkerMr NairnMr Tuckey
Mr CausleyMr HockeyDr NelsonMr M. A. J. Vaile
Mr CharlesMr HowardMs PanopoulosMr Wakelin
Mr CioboMrs HullMr PearceDr Washer
Mr CobbMr HuntMr ProsserMr Williams
Mr CostelloMr JohnsonMr PyneMr Windsor
Mr DownerMr JullMr RandallMs Worth

* Tellers

And so it was negatived.

Questions without notice concluded.