Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document


Mr McArthur, addressing himself to the Clerk, proposed to the House for its Speaker Mr J. N. Andrew, and moved—That he do take the Chair of this House as Speaker, which motion was seconded by Mr Forrest.

Mr J. N. Andrew informed the House that he accepted nomination.

There being no further proposal Mr J. N. Andrew was declared elected as Speaker, and Mr McArthur and Mr Forrest conducted him to the Chair.

Mr J. N. Andrew returned his acknowledgments to the House for the honour it had been pleased to confer upon him by choosing him to be its Speaker, and thereupon sat down in the Chair.

Then the Mace, which before lay under the Table, was laid upon the Table.

Mr Howard (Prime Minister), Mr Crean (Leader of the Opposition), Mr Anderson (Leader of the National Party of Australia), Ms Macklin (Deputy Leader of the Opposition), Mr Abbott (Minister for Employment and Workplace Relations), Mr Swan, Mr McArthur, Mr Andren and Mr Forrest congratulated the Speaker, who expressed his thanks.