Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment


Mr L. D. T. Ferguson moved—That so much of the standing and sessional orders be suspended as would prevent the honourable Member for Reid from moving forthwith—That this House:

(1) notes that yesterday the Government withdrew its notice of motion given in the Senate to exempt the Regional Forest Agreements Bill 2001 from the Senate cut-off order which was required for the passage of the Bill in the current session of the Parliament;

(2) notes that the Government has not included the Bill in its priority legislation to be debated in the Senate on this final day of sitting;

(3) notes that there is no present likelihood of further sittings of the Senate before an election;

(4) condemns the Government for failing to introduce the RFA Bill until 28 August and its failure to bring it on for debate in the House until 26 September, despite long term and continuing commitments by the Opposition to support the passage of the legislation; and

(5) condemns the Minister for Forestry and Conservation and the Government for failing to ensure that this legislation was brought on and debated in the current session in sufficient time to secure its passage with the support of the Opposition.

Closure of Member

Mr Slipper (Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Finance and Administration) moved—That the Member be not further heard.

Question—put and passed.

Mr Zahra (seconder) addressing the House—

Closure of Member

Mr Slipper moved—That the Member be not further heard.

Question—put and passed.

Question—That the motion for the suspension of standing and sessional orders be agreed to—put.

The House divided (the Deputy Speaker, Mr Jenkins, in the Chair)—

AYES, 60

Mr AdamsMr M. J. FergusonMr LeeMr Price
Mr AlbaneseMr FitzgibbonMs LivermoreMr Quick
Mr BevisMs GerickMr McClellandMr Ripoll
Mr BreretonMr GibbonsMs J. S. McFarlaneMs Roxon
Ms BurkeMs GillardMs MacklinMr Rudd
Mr ByrneMr GriffinMr McLeayMr Sawford*
Ms CorcoranMs HallMr McMullanMr Sciacca
Mr CoxMr HattonDr MartinMr Sercombe*
Mr CreanMs HoareMr MelhamMs Short
Mrs CrosioMr HollisMr MorrisMr Sidebottom
Mr EdwardsMr HorneMr MossfieldMr Snowdon
Ms EllisMrs IrwinMr MurphyMr Tanner
Mr EmersonMs KernotMs O'ByrneMr K. J. Thomson
Mr M. J. EvansMr KerrMr O'KeefeMr Wilkie
Mr L. D. T. FergusonMr LathamMs PlibersekMr Zahra

NOES, 71

Mr AbbottMr FischerMr McArthur*Mr Secker
Mr AndersonMr Forrest*Mr I. E. MacfarlaneMr Slipper
Mr K. J. AndrewsMrs GallusMr McGauranMr Somlyay
Mr AnthonyMs GambaroMrs MayDr Southcott
Mr BairdMrs GashMrs MoylanDr Stone
Mr BarresiMr GeorgiouMr NairnMrs Sullivan
Mr BartlettMr HaaseMr NehlMr C. P. Thompson
Mr BillsonMr HardgraveDr NelsonMr A. P. Thomson
Mrs B. K. BishopMr HawkerMr NevilleMr Truss
Ms J. I. BishopMr HockeyMr PearceMr Tuckey
Mr CadmanMrs HullMr ProsserMr M. A. J. Vaile
Mr CameronMr JullMr PyneMrs D. S. Vale
Mr CausleyMrs D. M. KellyMr ReithMr Wakelin
Mr CostelloJackie KellyMr RonaldsonDr Washer
Mrs DraperDr KempMr RuddockMr Williams
Mrs ElsonMr LawlerMr St ClairDr Wooldridge
Mr EntschMr LindsayMr SchultzMs Worth
Mr FaheyMr LloydMr Scott

* Tellers


Mr Lieberman Dr Lawrence

Mr Charles Mr O'Connor

Mr Downer Mr Smith

And so it was negatived.