Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download PDFDownload PDF 

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment


Senator Crane, pursuant to notice, moved--That the Senate--

(a) notes that the Deputy Prime Minister (Mr Beazley), when

launching the misleading advertisement on 22 October 1995 in

which he said "The Court Liberal Government has set the minimum

weekly wage at $317.10. A family can't live on that!', failed to

mention that:

(i) when the Minister for Human Services and Health (Dr

Lawrence) was Premier of Western Australia, the minimum

weekly wage from 24 September 1991 to 20 November 1992

was $268.80 and from then until she lost government was


(ii) a series of federal awards which are under direct

responsibility of the Keating Government are

significantly below the Western Australian state

minimum, and

(iii) such federal awards go as low for an adult as $238.10

per week, being a classification nine for an unskilled

worker in the federal Metal Trades Industry Award,

which means that under the Keating Federal Labor

Government, it is legal to pay $238.10 a week; and

(b) condemns the Deputy Prime Minister of Australia for this

misleading presentation and calls on him to explain how under

Labor a family can live on $238.10.

Documents: Senator Crane, by leave, tabled the following documents:

Industrial relations--Award rates of pay--Extracts from awards--

Commercial and Industrial Artists Award 1993 (Federal).

Licensed Clubs Managers and Secretaries Award (WA).

Squash Court Industry (Interim) Award 1980 (Federal).

Tenpin Bowling Industry (Interim) 1980 (Federal).

Theatrical Employees (Bibra Lakes Adventure World) (Federal).

Theatrical Employees (Cinema and Drive-in Industry) 1983 (Federal).

Debate ensued.

Question put.

The Senate divided--

AYES, 22

Boswell Brownhill Chapman Crane Ferguson Gibson Herron Knowles Macdonald, Sandy MacGibbon McGauran O'Chee Panizza (Teller) Parer Patterson Reid Short Teague Tierney Troeth Vanstone Woods

NOES, 23

Bell Bourne Carr Childs Colston Cooney Crowley Denman Evans, Christopher Forshaw Jones (Teller) Kernot Lees McKiernan McMullan Murphy Neal Reynolds Schacht Sherry Spindler Wheelwright Woodley

Question negatived.

General Business concluded.