Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download PDFDownload PDF 

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment


Senator Jones, at the request of the Chair of the Parliamentary Joint

Committee on Native Title and the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander

Land Fund (Senator Christopher Evans) and pursuant to notice of motion

not objected to as a formal motion, moved--That the Senate--

(a) notes that:

(i) the Waikato-Tainui people have long considered that the

confiscation of their lands in the 1860s took place in

breach of the Treaty of Waitangi,

(ii) a settlement has now been negotiated successfully and

includes an unreserved apology by the Crown,

(iii) the signing of a Deed of Settlement between Her

Majesty the Queen in right of New Zealand and the

Waikato-Tainui people took place on 22 May 1995,

(iv) the third reading of the Waikato-Tainui Waikato Raupatu

Claims Settlement Bill took place in the New Zealand

Parliament on 19 October 1995 without opposition or

division by the House, and

(v) the terms of the settlement, amounting to some $170

million, is the return of 29 803 acres of land and a

payment of $60 million; and

(b) congratulates the Waikato-Tainui people and the New Zealand

Government on the achievement of this historic settlement.

Question put and passed.