Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document


Senator Alston, by leave, moved--That the Senate censures the Minister

for Communications and the Arts (Mr Lee) and the Minister representing

the Minister for Communications and the Arts (Senator McMullan) for

their deliberate refusal to table the report of the Australian

Broadcasting Authority on cross media ownership rules as ordered by the

Senate, in circumstances where the documents may contain matter highly

critical of aspects of government communications policy in relation to

cross media ownership rules and, notwithstanding Senator McMullan's

assertions to the Senate on 21 June 1995, may not be made public in the

near future, or ever, in order to conceal these criticisms from the


Debate ensued.

The Senate divided--

AYES, 39

Abetz Alston Baume Bell Boswell Bourne Brownhill Calvert Chamarette Chapman Crane Ellison Ferguson Gibson Herron Hill Kemp Kernot Knowles Lees Macdonald, Ian MacGibbon McGauran Margetts Minchin O'Chee Panizza (Teller) Parer Patterson Short Spindler Tambling Teague Tierney Troeth Vanstone Watson Woodley Woods

NOES, 26

Beahan Bolkus Burns (Teller) Carr Childs Coates Collins, Jacinta Colston Cook Cooney Denman Devereux Evans, Christopher Evans, Gareth Foreman Forshaw Jones McKiernan McMullan Murphy Neal Reynolds Schacht Sherry West Wheelwright

Question agreed to.