Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download PDFDownload PDF 

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment


Senator Watson, pursuant to notice, moved--That the Senate--

(a) deplores the proposed amendments to the diesel fuel rebate

scheme which would be retrospective to 1 August 1986 and would

result in endless conflict, with many people being asked to

repay rebates which have been approved and received under the

rulings of the day;

(b) notes that some companies have incurred significant costs in

pursuing challenges to interpretations, only to find that, after

considerable financial outlay, this retrospective action has

changed or destroyed their case; and

(c) deplores the retrospective changes to the diesel fuel rebate

scheme, as a denial of natural justice.

Debate ensued.

Declaration of interest: Senator Panizza declared an interest in the

matter under discussion.

Debate continued.

Question put.

The Senate divided--

AYES, 28

Abetz Alston Boswell Brownhill Calvert Campbell Chapman Ellison Ferguson Gibson Harradine Hill Kemp Knowles Macdonald, Sandy MacGibbon Minchin O'Chee Panizza (Teller) Parer Reid Short Tambling Teague Tierney Vanstone Watson Woods

NOES, 20

Beahan Burns Carr Childs Colston Cooney Denman Devereux Evans, Christopher Foreman (Teller) Forshaw Jones McKiernan Murphy Neal Reynolds Schacht Sherry West Wheelwright

Question agreed to.