Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document


Senator Spindler, pursuant to notice, moved--That the following matters

be referred to the Legal and Constitutional References Committee for

inquiry and report on or before 26 September 1995:

(a) the necessary level of independence for Directors of Public

Prosecution in the Australian legal system;

(b) the level of such independence currently provided by

Commonwealth as compared with State legislation;

(c) any amendments to such legislation necessary to safeguard the

essential level of independence of such officers;

(d) the need for any constitutional amendments to safeguard the

essential level of independence of such officers; and

(e) any other matters directly related to these issues.

Debate ensued.

Question put.

The Senate divided--


Bell Bourne (Teller) Chamarette Coulter Kernot Lees Margetts Spindler Woodley

NOES, 50

Abetz Alston Baume Beahan Boswell Brownhill Burns Calvert Campbell Carr Chapman Childs Coates Colston Cooney Crane Denman Evans, Christopher Faulkner Ferguson Foreman Forshaw Harradine Herron Hill Jones Kemp Knowles Macdonald, Sandy MacGibbon McKiernan Minchin Murphy Neal O'Chee (Teller) Panizza Parer Patterson Reid Reynolds Schacht Tambling Teague Tierney Troeth Vanstone Watson West Wheelwright Woods

Question negatived.