Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download PDFDownload PDF 

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment


Order of the day read for the adjourned debate on the motion of the

Minister for Small Business, Customs and Construction (Senator

Schacht)--That this bill be now read a second time.

Debate resumed.

Question put.

The Senate divided--

AYES, 31

Beahan Bell Bolkus Bourne Burns Chamarette Childs Coates Collins Colston Cook Cooney Crowley Denman Devereux Evans, Christopher Evans, Gareth Foreman Jones (Teller) Kernot Lees McKiernan McMullan Margetts Murphy Ray Reynolds Spindler West Woodley Zakharov

NOES, 28

Alston Baume Boswell Brownhill Calvert Chapman Crichton-Browne Ellison Ferguson Herron Hill Kemp Knowles Macdonald, Ian Macdonald, Sandy McGauran O'Chee Panizza (Teller) Parer Patterson Short Tambling Teague Tierney Troeth Vanstone Watson Woods

Question agreed to.

Bill read a second time.

The Senate resolved itself into committee for the consideration of the


In the committee

Bill, taken as a whole by leave, debated.

At 12.45 p.m.: The Deputy President (Senator Crichton-Browne) resumed

the Chair and the Temporary Chairman of Committees (Senator Herron)

reported progress.