Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download PDFDownload PDF 

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment


The Minister for Veterans' Affairs (Senator Faulkner), pursuant to

notice, moved--That on Thursday, 24 March 1994:

(a) the hours of meeting shall be:

9.30 a.m.--6.50 p.m., and

8 p.m.--10.30 p.m.;

(b) the routine of business shall be as for a Thursday, except that

consideration of Government Business shall resume at the

conclusion of General Business or at 8 p.m., whichever is the


(c) the question for the adjournment shall be put at 10.30 p.m.; and

(d) the procedures for the adjournment specified in the sessional

order of 2 February 1994 relating to the times of sitting and

routine of business shall not apply to the adjournment.

Debate ensued.

Question put.

The Senate divided--

AYES, 34

Beahan Bell Bolkus Bourne Burns Chamarette Childs Colston Cook Coulter Crowley Denman Devereux Evans, Christopher Evans, Gareth Faulkner Foreman Jones (Teller) Kernot Lees Loosley McKiernan Margetts Murphy Neal Ray Reynolds Richardson Schacht Sherry Spindler West Woodley Zakharov

NOES, 32

Abetz Baume Boswell Brownhill Campbell Chapman Crichton-Browne Ellison Ferguson Gibson Harradine Herron Hill Kemp Knowles Macdonald, Ian Macdonald, Sandy MacGibbon McGauran Minchin Newman O'Chee Panizza (Teller) Parer Patterson Short Tambling Tierney Troeth Vanstone Watson Woods

Question agreed to.