Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download PDFDownload PDF 

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment


The Deputy President (Senator Crichton-Browne) informed the Senate that

the President had received a letter from Senator Short advising that

this day he intended to move--That, in the opinion of the Senate, the

following is a matter of urgency:

The need to condemn the Government for the abject failure, under

successive responsible ministers, to administer the Australian Customs

Service competently, as demonstrated in the critical review of the

report, Turning Point, and the grossly inadequate response of the

Minister for Science and Small Business (Senator Schacht) to that


The proposal was supported by 4 Senators.

Senator Short moved the motion.

Debate ensued.

Question put.

The Senate divided--

AYES, 41

Alston Baume Bell Bishop Boswell Bourne Brownhill Calvert Campbell Chapman Coulter Crichton-Browne Ellison Ferguson Gibson Harradine Herron Hill Kemp Kernot Knowles Lees Macdonald, Ian Macdonald, Sandy MacGibbon McGauran Minchin Newman Panizza Parer Patterson Reid (Teller) Short Spindler Tambling Teague Tierney Troeth Vanstone Watson Woodley

NOES, 27

Beahan Burns Carr Childs Coates Collins Colston Cook Cooney Crowley Denman Devereux Evans, Christopher Faulkner Foreman Jones (Teller) Loosley McKiernan McMullan Murphy Ray Reynolds Richardson Schacht Sherry West Zakharov

Question agreed to.