Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document


The Leader of the Government in the Senate (Senator Gareth Evans),

addressing the Clerk of the Senate, reminded the Senate that the time

had come for the Senate to choose one of its members to be President.

Senator Gareth Evans then proposed Senator Beahan to the Senate for its

President and moved--That Senator Beahan take the Chair of the Senate as


Only one Senator was proposed and Senator Beahan was declared elected

and conducted to the Chair.

The President returned his acknowledgments to the Senate for the honour

conferred upon him and assumed the Chair. He was congratulated by

Senator Gareth Evans, the Leader of the Opposition in the Senate

(Senator Hill), the Leader of the Australian Democrats (Senator Kernot),

the Leader of the National Party of Australia in the Senate (Senator

Boswell), Senators Chamarette and Harradine and the Minister for Health

(Senator Richardson).

Senator Gareth Evans stated that he understood that it suited the

convenience of Senators to resume these remarks after question time, and

moved--That remarks concerning the retiring President and Senator Archer

may be resumed immediately after question time.

Question put and passed.

Senator Gareth Evans informed the Senate that His Excellency the

Governor-General would receive the President, and such honourable

Senators as desired to accompany him, at 9.20 a.m. tomorrow.