Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document


Order of the Day read for the adjourned debate on the motion of the Leader of the Opposition in the Senate (Senator Button)-That the Senate censures the Government for its grave failure, and the failure of the Attorney-General and the Treasurer in particular, in the administration of legislation relating to criminal and civil offences against the tax laws resulting in multi-billion dollar frauds against the Commonwealth, and calls for the resignation of the Attorney-General and the Treasurer.

Debate resumed.

Leave refused: Senator Button sought leave to have the Question divided.

Objection being raised, leave not granted.

Senator Button, pursuant to Standing Order 130, requested the President to order the Question to be divided.

Ruling of President: The President ruled that the Question was not a complicated Question and therefore he would not accede to the request.


The Senate divided-

AYES, 31

Senators- Bolkus Button Childs Chipp Coates Coleman Colston Elstob Evans Foreman Georges Gietzelt Giles Grimes Haines Hearn Jones Keeffe McClelland McIntosh McLaren Macklin Mason Mulvihill Primmer Ray, Robert Ryan Siddons Tate Walsh Teller: Senator Robertson

NOES, 31

Senators- Archer Baume Bjelke-Petersen Bonner Carrick, Sir John Chaney Collard Crichton-Browne Durack Guilfoyle, Dame Margaret Hamer Harradine Hill Jessop Lajovic Lewis MacGibbon Martin Martyr Messner Missen Rae, Peter Reid Scott Teague Thomas Walters Watson Withers Young Teller: Senator Kilgariff

The Ayes and Noes being equal, Question resolved in the negative.