Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download PDFDownload PDF 

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment


Order of the Day read for the adjourned debate on the Question--That this Bill be now read a second time.

Debate resumed.

Statements by Senators: Senator Harradine and the Leader of the Opposition in the Senate (Senator Button), by leave, made statements.

Question--That this Bill be now read a second time--put.

The Senate divided--

AYES, 28

Senator-- Senator-- Bolkus Keeffe Button McIntosh Childs McLaren Chipp Macklin Coates Mason Coleman Mulvihill Colston Primmer Elstob Ray, Robert Evans Ryan Georges Siddons Gietzelt Tate Giles Walsh Grimes Haines Teller: Hearn Sibraa

NOES, 28

Senator-- Senator-- Archer Lajovic Baume MacGibbon Bjelke-Petersen Martyr Bonner Messner Carrick Reid Chaney Scott Collard Teague Crichton-Browne Thomas Durack Townley Guilfoyle, Walters Dame Margaret Watson Hamer Withers Harradine Young Hill Teller: Jessop Kilgariff

The Ayes and Noes being equal, Question resolved in the negative.