Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document


The President reported receipt of letters from the Leader of the Government in the Senate and the Leader of the Opposition in the Senate requesting variations in the membership of Standing Committees.

The Leader of the Government in the Senate (Senator Carrick), by leave, moved--

(1) That the following Senators be discharged from further attendance on the Standing Committees indicated :

Regulations and Ordinances--Senator Hamer

Constitutional and Legal Affairs--Senator Bolkus

Education and the Arts--Senators Hamer, Robertson and Ryan Finance and Government Operations--Senator McClelland

Foreign Affairs and Defence--Senators Martin and Sibraa Trade and Commerce--Senator Hearn

(2) That the following Senators, having been duly nominated in accordance with Standing Orders 36A and 36AA, be appointed members of Standing Committees, as follows--

Regulations and Ordinances--Senators Foreman and Walters Constitutional and Legal Affairs--Senator Ryan

Education and the Arts--Senators Hearn, Lajovic and Robert Ray Finance and Government Operations--Senator Coates

Foreign Affairs and Defence--Senators Hamer and Bolkus

Trade and Commerce--Senator Childs

Question--put and passed.