Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document


Senator Ryan, pursuant to notice, moved--That the Traffic (Amendment) Ordinance 1981, as contained in Australian Capital Territory Ordinance No. 9 of 1981, and made under the Seat of Government (Administration) Act 1910, be disallowed, on the grounds that--

(a) the Standing Committee on Regulations and Ordinances has found that the Ordinance does unduly trespass on the rights and liberties of citizens; (b) the Minister for the Capital Territory has given an undertaking that the Ordinance will be replaced before Anzac Day 1982; and

(c) the Ordinance is selective in its operation, having effect only in relation to Anzac Day marches.

Debate ensued.


The Senate divided--

AYES, 29

Senator-- Senator-- Bolkus Keeffe Button McClelland Childs McIntosh Coates McLaren Coleman Macklin Colston Mason Elstob Mulvihill Evans Primmer Foreman Ray, Robert Gietzelt Ryan Giles Sibraa Grimes Siddons Haines Walsh Hearn Teller: Jones Robertson

NOES, 29

Senator-- Senator-- Archer Lewis Baume Martyr Bjelke-Petersen Messner Bonner Missen Carrick Rae, Peter Chaney Reid Collard Scott Crichton-Browne Teague Durack Thomas Guilfoyle, Townley Dame Margaret Walters Hamer Watson Harradine Young Hill Jessop Teller: Lajovic Kilgariff

The Ayes and Noes being equal, Question resolved in the negative.