Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Current HansardDownload Current Hansard   

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Tuesday, 20 August 1996
Page: 2667

His Excellency the Hon. Sir William Patrick Deane, Companion of the Order of Australia, Knight Commander of the Order of the British Empire, Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia, entered the chamber and, taking his seat on the dais, said:

Honourable senators:

I am present for the administration of the oath or affirmation of allegiance to senators elected to serve in the Senate from 1 July 1996, as required by section 42 of the Constitution.

The Clerk produced and laid on the table the certificates of election for the following senators elected, on 2 March 1996, to serve in the Senate for the respective states from 1 July 1996:

New South Wales—Robert Leslie Woods; Suzanne Margaret West; David Gordon Cadell Brownhill; Bruce Kenneth Childs; Helen Lloyd Coonan; Vicki Worrall Bourne.

Queensland—Ian Douglas Macdonald; John Joseph Hogg; Ronald Leslie Doyle Boswell; John Joseph Herron; Brenda Gibbs; Cheryl Kernot.

South Australia—Robert Murray Hill; Rosemary Anne Crowley; Natasha Jessica Stott Despoja; Hedley Grant Pearson Chapman; Christopher Cleland Schacht; Jeannie Margaret Ferris.

Tasmania—Jocelyn Margaret Newman; Susan Mary Mackay; Paul Henry Calvert; Nicholas John Sherry; John Odin Wentworth Watson; Robert James Brown.

Victoria—Richard Kenneth Robert Alston; Robert Francis Ray; Charles Roderick Kemp; Bernard Cornelius Cooney; Kay Christine Lesley Patterson; Lynette Fay Allison.

Western Australia—Arthur Winston Crane; James Philip McKiernan; John Horace Panizza; Thomas Mark Bishop; Alan Eggleston; Andrew James Marshall Murray.

The Clerk informed the Senate that on 12 July 1996 the Governor-General received a letter from Senator Jeannie Ferris resigning her place as a senator for the state of South Australia; that pursuant to the provisions of section 21 of the Constitution the Governor-General notified the Governor of South Australia of the vacancy in the representation of that state caused by the resignation; and that the Governor-General has now received from the Governor of South Australia the certificate of the choice by the houses of the South Australian Parliament of Senator Jeannie Ferris to fill the vacancy caused by the resignation.

The abovenamed senators made and subscribed the oath or affirmation of allegiance.

His Excellency the Governor-General having retired—