Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Current HansardDownload Current Hansard    View Or Save XMLView/Save XML

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Monday, 30 November 2015
Page: 14219

Ms GAMBARO (Brisbane) (16:24): I rise to thank every one of the 600 local Brisbane primary school students who participated in my annual Christmas card design competition. Congratulations to the winning designers: competition winner, Savannah Potter, Ashgrove State School; competition runner-up, Sophie Ellis, Our Lady Help of Christians School Hendra; prep/year 1 category winner, Archie Marlow, Ashgrove State School; year 2 category winner, Libby Grigaliunas, Clayfield College; and year 3 category winner, Hugh Besley, Stafford State School. The quality of the designs and entries was outstanding. The emails I have been receiving from the families of the winners have been really encouraging. Madonna Potter, the mother of our winner, Savannah, wrote this:

Thank you for the exciting news regarding Savannah's success with the competition. I sat down with Savannah and asked her what significant buildings or landmarks reminded her of Brisbane. She responded with 'The Story Bridge, City Hall and the Christmas tree' and this then formed the foundation of her postcard.

Yasmin Grigaliunas, the mum of our runner-up Libby wrote this:

There was so much excitement at our house last night when we shared the wonderful news with Libby that she was the year 2 category winner. Libby is a budding artist; it is her passion, so you cannot imagine how over the moon she was when we told her she actually won. Libby spent many hours at home quietly working away on her design. It was incredible to see her so committed to it.

To everyone who entered the competition, thank you so very much. There are more than 92,000 residents who are going to have a great opportunity to see the talent showcased on these cards. Thank you to everyone who entered and I look forward to doing it all again next year.