Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
LITTLEPROUD, the Hon. David KellyBiography for LITTLEPROUD, the Hon. David Kelly

Member for Maranoa (Qld)

The Nationals

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Maranoa, Queensland, 2016. Re-elected 2019 and 2022.

Ministerial Appointments

Minister for Agriculture and Water Resources from 20.12.2017 to 29.5.2019.

Cabinet Minister from 20.12.2017 to 23.5.2022.

Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for Drought Preparation and Response from 26.11.2018 to 29.5.2019.

Minister for Water Resources, Drought, Rural Finance, Natural Disaster and Emergency Management from 29.5.2019 to 6.2.2020.

Minister for Agriculture, Drought and Emergency Management from 6.2.2020 to 2.7.2021.

Minister for Agriculture and Northern Australia from 2.7.2021 to 23.5.2022.

Committee Service

Joint Standing: Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade from 14.9.2016 to 1.7.2019.

House of Representatives Standing: Communications and the Arts from 14.9.2016 to 11.4.2019; Industry, Innovation, Science and Resources from 14.9.2016 to 11.4.2019.

Parliamentary Party Positions

Deputy Leader of the Federal Parliamentary Nationals from 4.2.2020 to 30.5.2022.

Leader of the Federal Parliamentary Nationals from 30.5.2022.

Shadow Minister for Agriculture from 5.6.2022.

Party Positions

Chairman of the Liberal National Party Maranoa Divisional Council.

Chairman of the Liberal National Party Southern Downs Electorate Council.


Born 4.9.1976, Chinchilla, Australia

Qualifications and Occupations before entering Federal Parliament

Cotton Chipper, 1993.

Banking and finance from 1994 to 2016.


Name: Maranoa

Location: The Division of Maranoa consists of: Balonne Shire Council, Barcaldine Regional Council, Barcoo Shire Council, Blackall Tambo Regional Council, Bulloo Shire Council, Diamantina Shire Council, Goondiwindi Regional Council, Longreach Regional Council, Maranoa Regional Council, Murweh Shire Council, Paroo Shire Council, Quilpie Shire Council, Western Downs Regional Council, Winton Shire Council, part of the South Burnett Regional Council, part of the Southern Downs Regional Council, and part of the Toowoomba Regional Council.

Area: 729,897 Sq km

Electors enrolled: 105,051 (at 10.6.2019)

Industries: Mainly primary production including coal, oil, gas, orchards, cotton, grain, cattle and sheep.