Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
COLEMAN, the Hon. David BernardBiography for COLEMAN, the Hon. David Bernard

Member for Banks (NSW)

Liberal Party of Australia

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Banks, New South Wales, 2013. Re-elected 2016, 2019 and 2022.

Ministerial Appointments

Assistant Minister for Finance from 20.12.2017 to 28.8.2018.

Minister for Immigration, Citizenship and Multicultural Affairs from 28.8.2018 to 29.5.2019.

Minister for Immigration, Citizenship, Migrant Services and Multicultural Affairs from 29.5.2019 to 22.12.2020.

Assistant Minister to the Prime Minister for Mental Health and Suicide Prevention from 22.12.2020 to 23.5.2022.

Committee Service

Joint Statutory: Corporations and Financial Services from 4.12.2013 to 4.6.2015; Public Works from 14.9.2016 to 1.7.2019.

Joint Standing: Electoral Matters from 22.2.2016 to 2.3.2016 (Chair from 23.2.2016 to 3.3.2016).

House of Representatives Standing: Economics from 4.12.2013 to 9.5.2016 (Chair from 11.3.2016 to 9.5.2016); Economics from 15.9.2016 to 20.12.2017 (Chair from 15.9.2016 to 20.12.2017).


Born 5.3.1974, Camden, Australia


Qualifications and Occupations before entering Federal Parliament

LLB (University of New South Wales).

BA (University of New South Wales).

President of the Student Guild, University of New South Wales, 1997.

Business analyst at McKinsey and Co., 1998.

Business Development Manager at LookSmart from 1998 to 1999.

Director of Corporate Development at dStore from 1999 to 2000.

Managing Director of L2I from 2001 to 2005.

Director of Strategy and New Media at PBL from 2005 to 2007.

Director of Strategy at PBL Media from 2007 to 2010.

Director of ninemsn Pty. Ltd. from 2008 to 2013.

Director of the Australian News Channel Pty. Ltd. from 2008 to 2013.

Director of Strategy and Digital Nine Entertainment Co. from 2010 to 2013.

Director of Yellow Brick Road Holdings Ltd. from 2011 to 2013.

Chairman of ninemsn Pty. Ltd. from 2012 to 2013.


Name: Banks

Location: Banks is bound by the Georges River in the south and west, the South Western Motorway in the north and King Georges Road, the Illawarra railway line, Jubilee Avenue the Princes Highway and Terry Street in the east. The main suburbs include Allawah, Carlton (part), Connells Point, East Hills, Lugarno, Mortdale, Oatley, Panania, Padstow, Padstow Heights, Hurstville Grove, Picnic Point, Revesby, Riverwood and South Hurstville.

Area: 53 Sq km

Electors enrolled: 106,253 (at 5.6.2019)

Industries: Light manufacturing, commercial and service industries.