Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
$290,000 to trial boys' education learning materials.

Download PDFDownload PDF

Media Release


27 June 2005 MIN 1135/05

The range of teaching materials used to target boys’ education will be boosted with today’s announcement that the Australian Government will provide $290,000 to trial new learning resources in 40 schools across the country.

Funding for the trial has been provided as part of the Howard Government’s $19.4 million Success for Boys programme. A cross-section of schools will be involved, including co-educational and single sex boys’ schools, schools in rural, remote and metropolitan areas, and primary, middle and secondary schools.

It is imperative that nothing is done which undermines the important and necessary progress which has been made in the last twenty years in the education of girls, however the evidence is overwhelming that boys are falling behind in our education system.

It is unacceptable that 14 year old boys are not performing as well in literacy tests as they were 25 years ago. Boys are lagging behind girls in operational literacy right across the school curriculum from early primary to secondary school.

The Australian Government is committed to improving boys’ educational and social outcomes and has allocated around $27 million over the next five years towards that goal. This includes the Boys’ Education Lighthouse project, and specialised research into areas relevant to boys’ education, as well as the new Success for Boys programme.

In the first phase of Success for Boys, Townsville’s James Cook University, in conjunction with Curriculum Corporation, is developing and trialling learning resources for boys’ education in three key areas:

● Providing boys opportunities to benefit from positive male role models and mentors;

● Literacy teaching and assessment; and

● Using information and communications technology (ICT) to engage boys in learning.

These resources will be trialled in Term 3 this year.

Under the second stage of Success for Boys, schools will be able to apply for grants of $10,000 to support their implementation of the resources. It is expected that up to 800 schools will be funded in the 2006 school year, and a further 800 will be funded in 2007.

I congratulate all the trial schools, and thank them for their contribution to developing a high quality, world class resource to be used for the education of boys.

Schools should be able to apply for funding to take up Success for Boys professional learning, and implement supporting activities, from July 2005. Updates on the opening date for applications will be available on:

Media Contacts: Dr Nelson’s Office: Yaron Finkelstein 0414 927 663 Dept of Education, Science & Training: Laila Lacis 0412 040 034

List of trial schools (in alphabetical order)

Albion Park Rail Public School NSW

Balgowlah Heights Public School NSW

Belair Primary School SA

Bentley Park College - Edmonton, (in conjunction with Gordonvale) QLD

Blacktown Boys High School NSW

Boggabilla Central School NSW

Breadalbane Public School (cluster of 6 schools) NSW

Bridgewater High School TAS

Bunbury Catholic College WA

Claremont College TAS

Cowandilla Primary School SA

Driver Primary School NT

Drouin Secondary College VIC

Eastern Fleurieu R-12 - Strathalbyn SA

James Meehan High School - Macquarie Fields NSW

Karingal Heights Primary School - Frankston VIC

Kormilda College - Berrimah NT

Lyneham High School ACT

Machans Beach State School QLD

Macleay Vocational College - West Kempsey NSW

Minaret College - Springvale VIC

Myrrhee Primary School (cluster of 5 schools) VIC

Narre Warren South P-12 College VIC

Newcomb Secondary College (cluster of 7 schools) VIC

Pemberton District High School WA

Pomona State School QLD

Red Bend Catholic College - Forbes NSW

Rostrevor College - Woodforde SA

Seven Hills Public School - Seven Hills NSW

Shoalhaven High School - Nowra East NSW

South Newman Primary School - Newman WA

St Cecilia's Primary School - Port Hedland WA

St Joseph's College - Newtown VIC

St Macartan's Primary School - Mornington VIC

St Michael's College - Cararra QLD

St Michael's College - Henley Beach SA

Abergowrie College - Ingham QLD

Thornlie Primary School (cluster of 2 schools) WA

Toukley Public School NSW

Wagaman Primary School NT