Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
CADMAN, the Hon. Alan Glyndwr, OAMBiography for CADMAN , the Hon. Alan Glyndwr, OAM
Go To First Hit

Member for Mitchell (NSW) 1974-2007

Liberal Party of Australia

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Mitchell, New South Wales, 1974, 1975, 1977, 1980, 1983, 1984, 1987, 1990, 1993, 1996, 1998, 2001 and 2004. Retired prior to general elections 2007.

Parliamentary Appointments

Parliamentary Secretary to the Prime Minister from 19.3.81 to 5.3.83.

Member, Advisory Council for Inter- government Relations from 10.5.83 to 21.2.85.

Ministerial Appointments

Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Workplace Relations and Small Business from 11.7.97 to 21.10.98.

Committee Service

House of Representatives Standing: Community Affairs from 8.10.87 to 19.2.90; Legal and Constitutional Affairs from 15.6.89 to 29.1.96 and from 8.12.98 to 31.8.04; Transport, Communications and Infrastructure from 16.5.90 to 8.2.93; Selection from 7.5.96; Procedure from 29.5.96 to 24.9.97; Industry, Science and Resources from 29.3.01 to 8.10.01; Industry and Resources from 1.12.04; Employment, Education and Workplace Relations from 29.3.01 to 8.10.01; Family and Community Services from 20.3. 02 to 31.8.04; Family and Human Services from 1.12.04; Health and Ageing from 1.12.04.

House of Representatives Select: Specific Learning Difficulties from 14.11.74 (Chair from 6.4.76) to 14.10.76.

Joint Statutory: Public Accounts from 1.3.78 to 26.3.81 and from 5.5.83 to 29.11.85; Broadcasting of Parliamentary Proceedings from 28.2.06.

Joint: Parliamentary Committee System from 1.4.76 to 26.5.76.

Conferences, Delegations and Visits

Leader, Australian Delegation to Greece 1975.

Guest of Japan Foundation 1976.

Guest of British Government 1979.

Delegate, Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting, Melbourne, September-October 1981.

Emissary to the Caribbean for Commonwealth Heads of Government Conference 1981.

Member, Parliamentary Delegation to the South Pacific, August 1983.

Leader, Opposition Task Force on Drugs and Refugees in South-East Asia 1988.

International Guest Speaker, Conference on Macedonia 1989.

Leader, Australian Political Exchange Negotiations, Japan 1991.

Member, Liberal Party Task Force to New Zealand 1992.

Official visit to Canada, September 1997.

Study tour, Indonesia, July 2000; Japan, November 2000; New Zealand, June 2001.

Member, Official Committee Exchange Visit by the House of Representatives Standing Committee on Employment, Education and Workplace Relations, New Zealand, June 2001.

Member, Parliamentary Delegation to Indonesia and Papua New Guinea, December 2003.

Member, Parliamentary Delegation to Indonesia and Papua New Guinea, January 2006.

Parliamentary Party Positions

Member, Opposition Shadow Ministry from 9.9.85 to 12.5.89. Spokesman on Immigration and Ethnic Affairs from 9.9.85 to 12.5.89.

Chief Government Whip from 11.3.96 to 11.7.97.

Party Positions

President, Liberal Party Dural-Arcadia Branch 1970-74.

Member, Liberal Party State Council (NSW) from 1970.

Member, Policy Committees on Agriculture, Fisheries, Forestry and Conservation; Attorney-General, Justice and Customs; Communications, Information Technology and the Arts; Family and Human Services; Health and Ageing; Industry and Resources; Trade and Foreign Affairs; Treasury, Finance and Public Administration.


Born 26.7.1937, Sydney, NSW.


Qualifications and Occupation before entering Federal Parliament

CertAg (UNSW).


Company director.


Appointed Medal of the Order of Australia, January 2009.


Description: outer metropolitan.

Location: north-western outskirts of Sydney; it includes the suburbs of Annangrove, Baulkham Hills, Beaumont Hills, Bella Vista, Box Hill, Carlingford, Castle Hill, Crestwood, Dural, Glenhaven, Kellyville, Kenthurst, Maraylya, Nelson, Northmead, North Rocks, Rouse Hill and West Pennant Hills.

Area: 182 sq km (approx.).

Electors enrolled: 95 480 (at 9.10.04).

Industries: light engineering, food processing, information technology, pharmaceuticals, building, horticulture and general agriculture.

State electorates: Mitchell includes parts of the New South Wales Legislative Assembly electorates of Baulkham Hills, Epping, Hawkesbury, The Hills and Riverstone.