Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Full Day's HansardDownload Full Day's Hansard    View Or Save XMLView/Save XML

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Wednesday, 11 December 1974
Page: 3455

Senator Greenwood asked the Minister for the Media, upon notice:

(1)   Who are the present members of the Australian Broadcasting Commission.

(2)   When was each member first and last appointed.

(   3 ) What is the term of office of each member.

(4)   Was the Minister aware at the time of their appointment whether any of the members of the Commission were (a) members of any, and if so, what political pany and (b) supporters of any, and if so, what political party.

(5   ) If the answer to any pan of (4) is in the negative, did the Minister make any enquiries as to whether the proposed members had political affiliations; if so, what did the enquiries reveal.

(6)   Does membership or support of the Australian Labor Party prevent or inhibit a Commissioner from discharging his obligations as a Commissioner.

(7)   What were the qualifications of each Commissioner for his appointment to the Commission.

Senator Douglas McClelland (NEW SOUTH WALES) - The answer to the honourable senator's question is as follows:


Professor Richard Ivan Downing, B.A., Dip. EcChairman.

Dr WilliamEarle Reginald Hackett, B.A., M.D., M.A., M.C.P.A., M.R.A.C.P., F.A.C.M.A.-Vice-Chairman.

Mr AngusJames Smith, O.B.E.

Mrs DorothyEdna Annie Edwards, O.B.E:

Mr HenrySouttar Lodge, LLB.

Mr MalcolmAnthony Kyle Thompson, M.I.Mech.E., M.I.E.Aust.

Mr HaroldFrancis Lashwood, J.P.

Mr KevinGeorge Jacobson.

Mr AlbertEdward Harris.

(2)   -

Professor R. I. Downing appointed I July 1 973.

Mr A.J. Smith first appointed1 July 1967; last reappointed 1 January 1972.

Mrs D.Edwards first appointed 16 August 1962; last reappointed 1 July 1972.

Mr H.S. Lodge appointed 3 August 1 972.

Mr M.A. K. Thompson appointed 2 1 September 1 972.

Dr EarleHackett appointed Commissioner 26 July 1 973- appointed Vice-Chairman 7 September 1974.

Mr H.F. Lashwood appointed 9 January 1973.

Mr K.Jacobson appointed 7 September 1 974.

Mr A.E. Harris appointed 7 September 1974.

(3)   In terms of the present provisions of the Broadcasting and Television Act each Commissioner shall be appointed for a period of 3 years but shall be eligible for reappointment. The present terms of office of the Commissioners are:

Professor R. I. Downing- 1 July 1 973 to 30 June 1 976.

Mr A.J. Smith- 1 January 1 972 to 3 1 December 1 974.

Mrs D.Edwards- 1 July 1972 to 30 June 1975.

Mr H.S. Lodge-3 August 1 972 to 2 August 1 975.

Mr M.A. K. Thompson-21 September 1972 to 20 September 1975.

Dr EarleHackett-26 July 1 973 to 25 July 1 976.

Mr H.F. Lashwood-9 January 1 973 to 8 January 1 976.

Mr K.Jacobsen-7 September 1 974 to 6 September 1 977.

Mr A.E. Harris;7 September 1 974 to 6 September 1 977. (4)I knew of my own knowledge that Mr Lashwood was a member of the Australian Labor Party at the time of his appointment. I also knew of my own knowledge that he was President of Actors and Announcers Equity, and in conformity with Government policy that there should be a member of the trade union movement appointed to Government statutory boards and Commissions Mr Lashwood was appointed.

(5)   I do not know whether any of the other members of the Commission are members of any political party, although one of them who was appointed by the previous Government has told me he was a member of the Liberal Party. Whether he still is or not I do not know. (6)I would not think so.

(7)   At the time of their respective appointments I released a press statement setting out the qualifications of the Commissioners appointed by this Government. Each of them has various skills and qualifications, warranting appointment to the Commission.

Suggest corrections