Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Full Day's HansardDownload Full Day's Hansard    View Or Save XMLView/Save XML

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Thursday, 5 December 1974
Page: 4837

Mr Malcolm Fraser asked the Minister for Labor and Immigration, upon notice:

(   1 ) Were the 46 persons named in the answer to Question No. 1 1 69 temporary public servants before the dates given in the answer (Hansard, 12November 1974, page 3391).

(2)   If so, how long had they been temporary public servants, and what jobs were they doing as temporary public servants.

(3)   How long had they been in the Public Service as permanent or temporary officers before they were appointed to the Arbitration Inspectorate.

Mr Clyde Cameron (HINDMARSH, SOUTH AUSTRALIA) - I am informed that the answer to the honourable member's question is as follows:

(1)   and (2) Of the 46 persons named in the answer to Question No. 1 169, 13 were temporary public servants prior to the dates given. Their names, approximate length of service as temporary public servants and positions occupied at that time are as follows:

New South Wales

D.   J. Gillard, 2 years, 2 months, Mail Officer.

W.   A. McDarmont, 11/2 months. Clerical Assistant.

I.   R. Morgan,81/2months, Clerk.


D.   M. Lambert, 1 month, Clerk.

R.   C. Percival, 2 years, 6 months, Clerical Assistant.

I.   Seymour, 7 months, Clerical Assistant.

P.   A. Street, 2 months, Clerk.


D.   R. W. Parker,1 month, Clerk.

M.   J. Perks, 1 month, Clerk.

South Australia

J.   G. Millowick,101/2months, Post Officer.

Western Australia

A.   B. Ainsworth, 1 year,1 month, Communications Officer.

I.   M. Grist, 3 months, Clerk.

J.   R. Quinn, 3 years, 6 months. Clerical Assistant.

(3)   The approximate period of time between employment as a temporary public servant and appointment as an Arbitration Inspector in each case is as follows:

D.   J. Gillard, 2 1 years, 1 month.

W.   A. McDarmont, 8 years, 8 months.

I.   R. Morgan,1 year.

D.   M. Lambert, 8 years, 10 months.

R.   C. Percival, 22 years, 7 months.

I.   Seymour,11 years, 10 months.

P.   A. Street, 9 years, 3 months.

D.   R. W. Parker, 3 years, 6 months.

M.   J. Perks, 9 years, 1 month.

J.   G. Millowick, 2 1 years,1 month.

A.   B. Ainsworth, 26 years, 5 months.

I.   M. Grist, 6 years, 5 months.

J.   R. Quinn, 27 years, 5 months. 1 am now informed that some errors have been found in the information provided in answer to Question No.1169. These result mainly from different interpretations placed on the date of appointment of officers where in some cases dates of seniority in the third division appear to have been quoted. The correct dates of permanent appointment to the Public Service of the eight officers concerned is as follows:

D.J. Gillard, 11 November 1954.

J.   H. Heaney,7Dec. 1964.

W.   A. McDarmont, 2 April 1965.

R.   F. Sprod, 1 8 February 1 959.

P.   A. Street, 22 March 1965.

D.   R.Claffey, 1 8 July 1962.

A.   B. Ainsworth, 27 August 1 948.

J.   R. Quinn, 1 7 January 1 950.

Suggest corrections