Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Full Day's HansardDownload Full Day's Hansard    View Or Save XMLView/Save XML

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Thursday, 1 June 1972
Page: 2487

Senator WILLESEE (WESTERN AUSTRALIA) asked the Minister representing the Minister for the Environment. Aborigines and the Arts, upon notice:

(1)   Has the composition of the Australian delegation to the United Nations Conference on the Human Environment been finalised; if so, what are the names of these persons.

(2)   What papers has Australia submitted to the Conference and will the Minister make available copies of these papers for perusal by honourable senators.

Senator GREENWOOD (VictoriaAttorneyGeneral) The Minister for the Environment, Aborigines and the Arts has provided the following answer to the honourable senator's question:

(1)   On 14th May 1972 the Prime Minister announced that the delegation will consist of:

The Honourable Peter Howson, M.P., Minister for the Environment, Aborigines and the Arts (Leader)

The Honourable J. G. Beale, M.L.A., New South Wales Minister for Environment Control (Representative)

The Honourable V. O. Dickie, M.L.C., Victorian Minister of State Development (Representative)

Sir LenoxHewitt, O.B.E., Secretary, Department of the Environment, Aborigines and the Arts (Representative)

Sir JamesPlimsoll, C.B.E., Australian Ambassador to the United States of America (Representative)

Sir WilliamRefshauge, C.B.E., DirectorGeneral of Health (Representative)

Mr W.K. Pilz, Under-Secretary, Department of Envionment Control, New South Wales (Alternate Representative)

Mr J.C. Fraser, Chairman, Environment Protection Authority, Victoria (Alternate Representative)

Mr C.N. Barton, O.B.E., CoordinatorGeneral, Queensland (Alternate Representative)

Dr W.G. Inglis, Director of Environmental Conservation. South Australia (Alternate Representative)

Dr B.J. O'Brien, Director of Environmental Protection, Western Australia (Alternate Representative)

Mr J.F. Pottinger, Director of Environmental Control, Tasmania (Alternate Representative)

Mr H.J. Higgs, First Assistant Secretary, Department of the Environment, Aborigines and the Arts (Alternate Representative)

Mr A.1. McCutchan, Senior Assistant Secretary, Department of National Development (Alternate Representative)

Dr J.B. Allen, Assistant Secretary, CSIRO (Alternate Representative)

Mr G.Unkles, First Assistant . Secretary, Department of Shipping and Transport (Adviser)

Mr G.L. V. Hooton, Assistant Secretary, Department of Trade and Industry (Adviser)

Dr R.S. Merrilees, First Australian Mission to the United Nations, New York (Adviser)

The Australian Ambassador-designate to Sweden, Mr J. D. Petherbridge, will join the delegation in Stockholm.

(2)   In company with other members of the United Nations, Australia submitted a National Report. In addition, Australia submitted to the U.N. Conference Secretariat a list of proposals for case studies to illustrate particular topics to be discussed at Stockholm; the Conference Secretariat then invited the National Capital Development Commission to prepare a casestudy on the Development of the New Towns of Canberra. Australia also submitted a paper 'Proposal for International Action on Insect Viruses',prepared by CSIRO. In addition, the States have contributed specific papers which will be included in the Conference Library. I will arrange for copies of the Commonwealth papers to be available to the Parliamentary Library.

Suggest corrections