Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Full Day's HansardDownload Full Day's Hansard    View Or Save XMLView/Save XML

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Thursday, 9 December 1971
Page: 4606

Mr Whitlam asked the Minister for Immigration, upon notice:

(1)   What (a) number and (b) percentage of eligible persons has been granted Australian citizenship by naturalisation in the period 1st January 1945 to 30th June 1971 in the alien national categories listed in the 1970-71 Citizenship Return.

(2)   What (a) number and (b) percentage of such (i) migrants from the United Kingdom, (ii) Irish citizens and (iii) citizens of each country listed in section 7 of the Citizenship Act as have resided in Australia for the necessary period have acquired Australian citizenship by notification.

(3)   Which countries have been (a) admitted to the Commonwealth since section 7 was passed and (b) declared by the regulations to be countries to which section 7 applies.

Dr Forbes - The answer to the honourable member's question is as follows:

(1)   The following table shows:

(a)   the number of persons of each nationality who were granted Australian citizenship by naturalisation between 1st January 1945 and 30th June 1971; and

(b)   the estimated percentage of eligible persons of each nationality who were granted Australia citizenship during the same period.



(a)   Australian Protected Persons and British Protected Persons are not aliens under the Citizenship Act 1948-69 and are not required to register as aliens. However, they may only acquire Australian citizenship by naturalization as provided for in sections 14 and 15 of the Act.

(b)   Prior to 1st July 1955 Byelorussians were included with Russians.

(2)   Section 11c of the Citizenship Act 1948- 1969 which came into force on 1st May 1970 provides that persons who have the status of British subject under the Act may acquire Australian citizenship by notification if they have lived in Australia for five years and are not liable to deportation.

In the early stages persons becoming Australian citizens by notification were not recorded according to the citizenship of the Commonwealth country they then possessed. However, this is now being done.

No statistics are available to show the per centage of eligible persons of each citizenship who have acquired' Australian citizenship by notification.

Between 1st May 1970 and 30th June 1971, 4,886 persons became Australian citizens by notification. This represents approximately 0.43 per cent of those eligible as at 30th June 1971 to seek citizenship by this means.

(3)   Since the Nationality and Citizenship Act 1948 {now the Citizenship Act 1948-1969) came into force on 26th January 1949, the undermentioned countries have been admitted to the Commonwealth and have either been added to section 7 of the Act or declared by regulation to be countries to which section 7 of the Act applies:


Republic of Botswana

Republic of Cyprus-


The Gambia Republic of Ghana Gyana Jamaica

Republic of Kenya

Kingdom of Lesotho

Republic of Malawi




Republic of Nauru

Federal Republic of Nigeria

Sierra Leone

Republic of Singapore

United Kingdom of Tanzania

Kingdom of Tonga

Trinidad and Tobago


Independent State of Western Samoa Republic of Zambia

Suggest corrections