Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Part 6 - Historical information on the Australian Parliament - Longest serving members

Download PDF Download PDF

Longest serving members

Senators and Members of the House of Representatives who have served more than thirty years.




Pearce, George Foster (later Sir George)

37 years 3 months

Cooper, Walter Jackson (later Sir Walter)

36 years 7 monthsa

O'Byrne, Justin

34 years

Brown, Gordon

33 years

Lynch, Patrick Joseph

31 years 6 months

Boswell, Ronald Leslie Doyle

31 years 3 months

Crawford, Thomas William

30 years

Foll, Hattil Spencer

30 years

Watson, John Odin Wentworth

30 years

Members of the House of Representatives



Hughes, William Morris

51 years 7 months

Page, Earle Christmas Grafton (later Sir Earle)

42 years

Ruddock, Philip Maxwell

42 years 9 months

McEwen, John (later Sir John)

36 years 5 months

Maloney, William Robert Nuttall

36 years 5 months

Makin, Norman John Oswald

36 years 1 month*

Brennan, Frank

36 years 1 month

Clark, Joseph James

35 years 1 month

Sinclair, Ian McCahon

34 years 9 months

Watkins, David

34 years

Cadman, Alan Glyndwr

33 years 5 months

Howard, John Winston

33 years 5 months

Groom, Littleton Ernest (later Sir Littleton)

33 years 1 month

Francis, Josiah

32 years 11 months

Holt, Harold Edward

32 years 4 months

Beazley, Kim Edward

32 years 3 months

Daly, Frederick Michael

32 years 3 months

Ward, Edward John

32 years 3 months*

Calwell, Arthur Augustus

32 years 1 month

McMahon, William (later Sir William)

32 years 1 month

Menzies, Robert Gordon (later Sir Robert)

31 years 5 months

Uren, Thomas

31 years 3 months

Scullin, James Henry

30 years 10 months*

Cameron, Clyde Robert

30 years 9 months

Jull, David Francis

30 years 1 month*

Lazzarini, Hubert Peter

30 years 1 month*

Note: For details of the term of service of those listed see lists of Senators and Members, pp. 422-499

* By Election.

a Term served in broken periods.