Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Part 1 - National Symbols - THE AUSTRALIAN FLAG

Download PDF Download PDF


The Flags Act 1953 formally established the Australian flag. The flag is described as:

The Australian national flag has a blue field with the 'Union Jack' in the canton (the upper quarter next to the flagpole). The seven-pointed Commonwealth star in the lower hoist represents the six States and the Territories. In the fly are the five stars of the constellation of the Southern Cross. Four of the stars have seven points and the smallest one has five.

For more information on Australian National Symbols,