Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document

      4   QUESTIONS

Questions without notice being asked—

Member directed to leave

At 2.42 p.m. the Member for Indi (Mrs Mirabella) was directed, under standing order 94, to leave the Chamber for one hour for continuing to interject after a warning had been given from the Chair, and she accordingly left the Chamber.

Questions without notice continuing—




Suspension of standing and sessional orders moved

Mr Abbott (Leader of the Opposition) moved—That so much of the standing and sessional orders be suspended as would prevent the Member for Warringah moving immediately—

(1)    That this House suspend proceedings forthwith so that the Prime Minister and the Treasurer can defend themselves against the very serious charge of deceiving the Australian people about the introduction of a carbon tax, in particular, that the Prime Minister and the Treasurer address the following questions before the full scrutiny of this House:

(a)    how the Prime Minister can claim any semblance of a mandate for her carbon tax when she said, five days before the election “there will be no carbon tax under the government I lead”;

(b)   how the Prime Minister can maintain the trust of the Australian people when she said one day before the election that “I rule out a carbon tax”;

(c)    how the Treasurer can be trusted with a trillion dollar economy when he said six days before the election that he “rejected this hysterical allegation that somehow we are moving towards a carbon tax…we certainly reject that”; and

(d)   how the Treasurer can ever be believed again when he said, in relation to a carbon tax that “we have made our position very clear. We have ruled it out”; and

(2)    That the Prime Minister and Treasurer stand before the people of Australia whose trust they have abused and whose mandate they do not have, to argue why a carbon tax won’t destroy jobs, the economy and our standard of living.

Debate ensued.

The time allowed by standing order 1 for debate on the motion having expired—



The House divided (the Speaker, Mr Jenkins, in the Chair)—

AYES, 70

Mr Abbott

Mr Fletcher

Mr McCormack

Mr Scott

Mr Alexander

Mr Forrest

Mr Macfarlane

Mr Secker*

Mr K. J. Andrews

Mr Frydenberg

Ms Marino

Mr Simpkins

Mrs K. L. Andrews

Ms Gambaro

Mrs Markus

Mr Slipper

Mr Baldwin

Mrs Gash

Mr Matheson

Mr A. D. H. Smith

Mr Billson

Mrs Griggs

Mr Morrison

Mr Somlyay

Mrs B. K. Bishop

Mr Haase

Mrs Moylan

Dr Southcott

Ms J. I. Bishop

Mr Hartsuyker

Mr Neville

Dr Stone

Mr Briggs

Mr A. G. Hawke

Mr O’Dowd

Mr Tehan

Mr Broadbent

Mr Hockey

Ms O’Dwyer

Mr Truss

Mr Buchholz

Mr Hunt

Mrs Prentice

Mr Tudge

Mr Chester

Mr Irons

Mr Pyne

Mr Turnbull

Mr Christensen

Dr Jensen

Mr Ramsey

Mr van Manen

Mr Ciobo

Mr E. T. Jones

Mr Randall

Mr Vasta

Mr Cobb

Mr Katter

Mr Robb

Dr Washer

Mr Coulton*

Mr C. Kelly

Mr Robert

Mr Wyatt

Mr Dutton

Mr Laming

Wyatt Roy


Mr Entsch

Ms Ley

Mr Ruddock


NOES, 72

Mr Adams

Mrs D’Ath

Mr S. P. Jones

Ms Plibersek

Mr Albanese

Mr Dreyfus

Dr M. J. Kelly

Mr Ripoll

Mr Bandt

Mrs Elliot

Ms King

Ms Rishworth

Ms Bird

Ms Ellis

Dr Leigh

Ms Rowland

Mr Bowen

Dr Emerson

Ms Livermore

Ms Roxon

Mr Bradbury

Mr L. D. T. Ferguson

Mr Lyons

Ms Saffin

Ms Brodtmann

Mr M. J. Ferguson

Mr McClelland

Mr Shorten

Ms A. E. Burke

Mr Fitzgibbon

Ms Macklin

Mr Sidebottom

Mr A. S. Burke

Mr Garrett

Mr Marles

Mr S. F. Smith

Mr Butler

Mr Georganas

Mr Melham

Ms Smyth

Mr Byrne

Mr Gibbons

Mr Mitchell

Mr Snowdon

Mr Champion

Ms Gillard

Mr Neumann

Mr Swan

Mr Cheeseman

Mr Gray

Mr Oakeshott

Mr Symon

Mr Clare

Ms Grierson

Mr O’Connor

Mr C. R. Thomson

Ms Collins

Mr Griffin

Ms O’Neill

Mr K. J. Thomson

Mr Combet

Ms Hall*

Ms Owens

Ms Vamvakinou

Mr Crean

Mr Hayes*

Ms Parke

Mr Wilkie

Mr Danby

Mr Husic

Mr Perrett

Mr Zappia

* Tellers


Mr Rudd                         Mr Schultz

Mr Murphy                    Mr Keenan

And so it was negatived.




Questions without notice concluded.