Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document


The Minister for Education (Senator Peter Baume), by leave, made a statement relating to the nomination of the Western Tasmanian Wilderness National Parks for inclusion on the World Heritage List.

Senator Ryan, by leave, moved-That the Senate take note of the Statement.

Debate ensued.

Senator Peter Baume moved-That the debate be now adjourned.


The Senate divided-

AYES, 24

Senators- Archer Baume Bjelke-Petersen Carrick, Sir John Chaney Crichton-Browne Hamer Hill Jessop Lajovic Lewis MacGibbon Martyr Messner Missen Scott Teague Thomas Townley Walters Watson Withers Young Teller: Senator Kilgariff

NOES, 28

Senators- Bolkus Button Childs Chipp Coates Colston Elstob Evans Foreman Georges Gietzelt Giles Grimes Haines Harradine McClelland McIntosh McLaren Macklin Mason Mulvihill Ray, Robert Robertson Ryan Siddons Tate Walsh Teller: Senator Sibraa

And so it was negatived.

Debate continued.

Question-put and passed.