Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document


Senator Harradine moved-That so much of the Standing Orders be suspended as would prevent the Senate proceeding to consider the States (Tax Sharing and Health Grants) Amendment Bill (No. 2) 1982 forthwith.

Debate ensued.


The Senate divided-

AYES, 29

Senators- Archer Baume Bjelke-Petersen Bonner Carrick, Sir John Chaney Collard Crichton-Browne Guilfoyle, Dame Margaret Hamer Harradine Hill Jessop Kilgariff Lajovic Lewis MacGibbon Martin Martyr Messner Reid Scott Teague Townley Walters Watson Withers Young Teller: Senator Thomas

NOES, 32

Senators- Bolkus Button Childs Chipp Coates Coleman Colston Elstob Evans Foreman Georges Gietzelt Giles Grimes Haines Hearn Jones Keeffe McClelland McIntosh McLaren Macklin Mason Mulvihill Primmer Ray, Robert Ryan Sibraa Siddons Tate Walsh Teller: Senator Robertson

And so it was negatived.