Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Current HansardDownload Current Hansard   

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Tuesday, 21 August 1984
Page: 84

(Question No. 961)

Senator Reid asked the Minister representing the Minister for Territories and Local Government, upon notice, on 13 June 1984:

(1) What library services are presently provided by the Department of Territories and Local Government in the Australian Capital Territory.

(2) Where are these services located.

(3) When are each of the services open to the public.

(4) What mobile library services are available in the Australian Capital Territory.

Senator Gietzelt —The Minister for Territories and Local Government has provided the following answer to the honourable senator's question:

(1) The Department of Territories and Local Government is responsible for the provision of public library services to the citizens of the Australian Capital Territory. This service comprises seven libraries situated throughout the Australian Capital Territory, and a mobile library service which regularly visits a number of areas.

(2) The Public Libraries are located at:

74 Leichhardt Street, Kingston (Central Library);

Woden Town Centre;

Erindale Centre;

Dickson Shopping Centre;

Ground Floor of the North Building, Civic;

Belconnen Town Centre; and

Kippax Fair.

(3) The seven libraries are open at the following times:


Monday-Friday 10.00-9.00 Saturday 9.00-5.00

Erindale Centre

Monday-Thursday 8.30-8.30 Friday 8.30-6.00 Saturday 9.00-5.00

Woden Town Centre

Monday, Thursday 10.00-5.30 Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday 10.00-9.00 Saturday 9.00-5.00

Belconnen Town Centre

Monday-Friday 10.00-9.00 Saturday 9.00-5.00

Civic Branch

Monday-Friday 8.30-6.00 Saturday 9.00-5.00

Dickson District

Monday-Thursday 9.00-8.00 Friday 9.00-9.00 Saturday 9.00-5.00

Kippax Interim

Monday Closed Tuesday-Thursday 10.00-5.45 Friday 9.00-8.00 Saturday 9.00- 1.00

(4) I have been informed that there is one mobile library service which provides library services to three primary schools in the Tuggeranong Valley, rural areas at Hall and Tharwa, a number of old people's homes and retirement villages, and the Quamby Children's Remand Centre.

The current timetable for the mobile library is as follows:


Manuka 9.00-10.00 Jindalee (Lower) 10.15-11.15 Hartigan Street, Garran 11. 30-12.30 Quamby Children's Remand Centre 1.45-2.45 Goodwin Homes, Farrer 3.00 -4.00


Hall 9.00-11.00 Kankinya Nursing Home, Lyneham 11.10-11.30 Morshead Home, Lyneham 11.40-12.30 Goodwin Homes, Ainslie 1.45-2.45 Girrahween Lodge, Braddon 3.00-4.00


* Richardson (Primary School) 9.00-12.00 Tharwa 2.00-3.45


Ozanam Home, Campbell 9.00-10.00 Ainslie Avenue/Batman Street, Braddon 10.15- 11.15 Hayley Street, Ainslie 11.30-12.30 Karingal Court, Narrabundah 1.50-2. 30 * Monash (Primary School) 3.00-4.00


* Gowrie (Primary School) 9.00-12.15 Mirinjani, Weston 1.45-2.45 Ambara Court, Waramanga 3.00-4.00

* Primary Schools are not visited during school holidays. The Mobile Library does not operate on weekends and public holidays.

A new vehicle is presently being constructed for the mobile library service and it is expected to be operating in September/October this year.