Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Current HansardDownload Current Hansard    View Or Save XMLView/Save XML

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Tuesday, 30 October 2012
Page: 12666

Mrs GRIGGS (Solomon) (16:25): It gives me great pleasure to rise today to speak about two events that I recently attended that recognise outstanding Territorians. On Friday night, I attended the 2012 Territory Research and Innovation Awards with my friend and colleague, the amazing Alison Anderson, who is the new Minister for Regional Development and Indigenous Advancement in the new Northern Territory Country Liberals government, along with another friend and colleague of mine the member for Sanderson, Mr Peter Styles. It was great to see so many innovators on the night.

The winner of the Minister for Business Innovation Award was Mike Crowe, from Desert Knowledge Australia. The winners of the Menzies School of Health Research and Desert Knowledge Research Award were Fiona Walsh, Josie Douglas and members of the (Food from the Creation Time) Reference Group. The winner of the Southern Cross Television Tropical Knowledge Research Award was Professor Stephen Grant from Charles Darwin University. The winner of the McArthur River Mining Indigenous Innovation Award was Anne Hanning from the Menzies School of Research. The winner of the Charles Darwin New Generation Award was Donna Lewis from the Department of Land Resource Management. The final award for the evening was the Tall Poppy Award, which was won by Dr Jaquelyne Hughes from the Menzies School of Health Research. I would like to congratulate all of those innovators.

On Saturday night, 27 October, I attended the Australian Institute of Management's Northern Territory 2012 Management Excellence Awards. The member for Drysdale, Lia Finocchiaro, and the member for Sanderson also attended the event. This event is great because it recognises the contribution of a range of managers throughout the Territory who have a real capacity to lead and inspire others. The Young Manager of the Year winner was Amelia Moloney from Apprenticeships Plus. Owner Manager of the Year was Amalie Andropov, who is the Managing Director of the Territory Medical Group. The Non-for-Profit Manager of the Year was Alexia Hohipa, who is the CEO of YMCA Top End. The Professional Manager of the Year was Mark Moller from Commonwealth Bank. And the Professional Manager of the Year for public service was Noelene Swanson, who was the Executive Director, Territory Housing Development and Operations for the Department of Housing, Local Government and Regional Services. She has recently joined the new Country liberals Territory government as an adviser.

I congratulate all of these outstanding Territorians and acknowledge their achievements towards making the Territory an even better place in which to live. It is people like these who make our Territory great.