Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Current HansardDownload Current Hansard    View Or Save XMLView/Save XML

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Wednesday, 15 June 2011
Page: 6114

Ms O'DWYER (Higgins) (13:54): Sir Winston Churchill once stated, 'We make a living by what we do, but we make a life by what we give.' In the seat of Higgins there are many people who give their time to support others in our community. Today, I would particularly like to congratulate those people in my electorate of Higgins who were honoured on the Queen's birthday: Mr Nelson Cooke AO, Professor Suzanne Crowe AO, Mr Maxwell Walker AM, Mr Reginald Church OAM, Mr Gordon Newton OAM and Mr Barry Novy OAM. These recipients have made an exemplary contribution in a diverse range of fields, from medical research to philanthropy to music and to sport. I offer my congratulations and my thanks for all that they have done and continue to do. These awardees continue a wonderful tradition in Higgins of community service. As a community we rely on the hard work and public spirit of our fellow Australians. These awards recognise the selflessness and altruism that are defining features of the Australian people.

In Higgins community is what defines us. Whether it is those who have been honoured or those who have worked tirelessly behind the scenes, we are exceptionally grateful to all of them for the work they do to better the lives of others. They are an example to all of us and we pay tribute to their service.