Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Current HansardDownload Current Hansard    View Or Save XMLView/Save XML

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Tuesday, 2 February 2016
Page: 169

Clontarf Foundation: Funding

(Question No. 1559)

Ms Claydon asked the Prime Minister, representing the Minister for Indigenous Affairs, in writing, on 12 October 2015:

(1) What sum of funding has been allocated to the Clontarf Foundation in (a) 2014-15, (b) 2015-16, and (c) over the forward budget estimates?

(2) What specific programs will be delivered using the funding allocated to the Clontarf Foundation, when will the programs be delivered, and at what specific locations will the programs be held?

(3) What sum of funding has been directly allocated to equivalent programs that support (a) health, (b) education, (c) training, and (d) employment, outcomes for Indigenous girls?

Mr Turnbull: The Minister for Indigenous Affairs has provided the following answer to the honourable member's question:

(1) The following funding has been allocated to the Clontarf Foundation through the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet:

(a) $8,696,895 in 2014-15

(b) $10,022,000 in 2015-16

(c) $19,861,000 over the forward budget estimates

(2) The Clontarf Foundation provides intensive education and engagement support to approximately 6,400 Indigenous boys throughout Australia. Activities are targeted towards improving education, discipline, life skills, self-esteem and employment prospects of participants.

Activities will be delivered in the following locations over the course of the funding period, 2014-15 to 2017-18.

NSW: Armidale, Bourke, Brewarrina, Coonamble, Inverell, Moree, Tamworth, Dubbo, Caringbah and Wagga Wagga.

Vic: Bairnsdale, Mildura, Robinvale, Swan Hill and Warrnambool.

Qld: Cherbourg/Murgon, Dalby, Harristown, Kingaroy, Toowoomba and Warwick.

NT: Casuarina, Alice Springs, Tiwi, Gunbalanya, Jabiru, Katherine, Berrimah, Nightcliff, Palmerston, Wulagi, Tennant Creek and Nhulunbuy.

WA: Perth, Carnarvon, Waterford, Coodanup, Derby, Kununurra, Fitzroy Crossing, Kwinana, Kalgoorlie, Albany, Halls Creek, Karratha, Katanning, Geraldton, Northam, Cannington, Esperance, Bunbury, Broome and Maddington.

(3) The Indigenous Advancement Strategy, Children and Schooling Programme, will provide $15.8 million over 2.5 years for equivalent projects for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander girls.