Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Current HansardDownload Current Hansard    View Or Save XMLView/Save XML

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Monday, 28 May 2007
Page: 209

Mr Melham asked the Minister for Foreign Affairs, in writing, on 10 October 2006:

What are the names and dates of appointment of all persons who have been appointed as Director or Director-General of the Australian Secret Intelligence Service since the establishment of the service in 1952.

Mr Downer (Minister for Foreign Affairs) —The answer to the honourable member’s question is as follows:

There have been 10 formally appointed Directors or Directors-General of the Australian Secret Intelligence Service since its inception in 1952. The current Director-General is Mr David Irvine AO, whose appointment commenced 1 March 2003. Previously, those persons appointed as Director-General of the Australian Secret Intelligence Service are as follows:

Mr Allan Taylor AM, was appointed 1 March 1998 until 28 February 2003.

Mr Rex Stevenson AO, commenced in acting capacity on 25 November 1992 before being appointed to the position 9 December 1992 until 28 February 1998.

Brigadier James Furner AO CBE DSM, was appointed 27 February 1984 until 24 November 1992.

Mr John Ryan OBE, was appointed 5 October 1981 until 21 December 1983.

Mr Ian Kennison CBE, was appointed 8 November 1975 until 10 July 1981.

Mr William Robertson CBE MC, commenced in acting capacity from 1 April 1960 until 31 August 1960 and was appointed 3 July 1968 until 7 November 1975.

Major General Sir Walter Cawthorn Kt CB CBE, was appointed 1 September 1960 until 2 July 1968.

Mr Ralph Harry AC CBE, was appointed 23 August 1957 until 31 March 1960.

Mr Alfred Brookes, was appointed 13 May 1952 until 22 August 1957.