Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document


Mrs Wicks addressing herself to the Clerk, proposed to the House for its Speaker Mr A. D. H. Smith, and moved—That he do take the Chair of this House as Speaker, which motion was seconded by Ms Vamvakinou.

Mr A. D. H. Smith informed the House that he accepted nomination.

There being no further proposal Mr A. D. H. Smith was declared elected as Speaker, and Mrs Wicks and Ms Vamvakinou conducted him to the Chair.

Mr A. D. H. Smith returned his acknowledgments to the House for the honour it had been pleased to confer upon him by choosing him to be its Speaker, and thereupon sat down in the Chair.

Then the Mace, which before lay under the Table, was laid upon the Table.

Mr Morrison (Prime Minister), Mr Albanese (Leader of the Opposition), Mr McCormack (Leader of The Nationals), Mr Marles (Deputy Leader of the Opposition), Mr Porter (Leader of the House), Mr Burke (Manager of Opposition Business) and Mr Katter congratulated the Speaker, who expressed his thanks.