Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download PDFDownload PDF 

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment

     6   Treasury Laws Amendment (Your Superannuation, Your Choice) Bill 2019

The order of the day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question—That the bill be now read a second time— And on the amendment moved thereto by Mr Jones, viz.— That all words after “That” be omitted with a view to substituting the following words:

“whilst not declining to give the bill a second reading, the House:

(1)        notes that too many Australians retire without adequate retirement savings; and

(2)        reaffirms its commitment to the legislated superannuation guarantee rise to 12 per cent by 2025”—

Debate resumed.

Question—That the amendment be agreed to—put.

The House divided (the Speaker, Mr A. D. H. Smith, in the Chair)—

AYES, 67

Mr Albanese

Mr Conroy

Ms M. M. H. King

Ms Rowland

Dr Aly

Mr Dick

Dr Leigh

Ms Ryan*

Mr Bandt

Mr Dreyfus

Ms McBride

Mr Shorten

Ms Bird

Mrs Elliot

Mr Marles

Mr D. P. B. Smith

Mr Bowen

Mr Fitzgibbon

Mr B. K. Mitchell

Mr Snowdon

Mr Burke

Dr Freelander

Mr R. G. Mitchell

Ms Stanley*

Ms Burney

Mr Georganas

Dr Mulino

Ms Swanson

Mr Burns

Mr Gorman

Ms Murphy

Ms Templeman

Mr M. C. Butler

Mr Gosling

Mr Neumann

Mr Thistlethwaite

Ms T. M. Butler

Mr Hill

Mr O’Connor

Ms Thwaites

Mr Byrne

Mr Husic

Ms O’Neil

Ms Vamvakinou

Dr Chalmers

Mr Jones

Ms Owens

Mr Watts

Mr Champion

Ms Kearney

Ms Payne

Ms Wells

Mr Clare

Dr M. J. Kelly

Mr Perrett

Mr Wilkie

Ms Claydon

Mr Keogh

Mrs Phillips

Mr J. H. Wilson

Ms Coker

Mr Khalil

Ms Plibersek

Mr Zappia

Ms Collins

Ms C. F. King

Ms Rishworth


NOES, 76

Mr Alexander

Mr Frydenberg

Ms Liu

Mr Simmonds

Dr Allen

Mr Gee

Mr McCormack

Ms Steggall

Mrs K. L. Andrews

Dr Gillespie

Mrs McIntosh

Mr Stevens

Mr K. J. Andrews

Mr Goodenough

Dr McVeigh

Mr Sukkar

Mrs Archer

Dr Haines

Mrs Marino

Mr Taylor

Ms Bell

Ms Hammond

Dr Martin

Mr Tehan

Mr Broadbent

Mr Hastie

Mr Morrison

Mr Thompson

Mr Buchholz

Mr Hawke

Mr Ted O’Brien

Mr Tudge

Mr D. J. Chester

Mr Hogan

Mr L. S. O’Brien

Mr van Manen

Mr Christensen

Mr Howarth

Mr O’Dowd

Mr Vasta

Mr Conaghan

Mr Hunt

Mr Pasin

Mr Wallace

Mr Connelly

Mr Irons

Mr Pearce

Dr Webster

Mr Coulton

Mr Joyce

Mr Pitt

Mrs Wicks

Mr Drum*

Mr C. Kelly

Mr Porter

Mr R. J. Wilson

Mr Dutton

Mr Laming

Ms Price

Mr T. R. Wilson

Mr Entsch

Ms Landry

Mr Ramsey*

Mr Wood

Mr Evans

Mr Leeser

Mr Robert

Mr Wyatt

Mr Fletcher

Ms Ley

Ms Sharkie

Mr Young

Ms Flint

Mr Littleproud

Mr Sharma

Mr Zimmerman

* Tellers

And so it was negatived.

Question—That the bill be now read a second time—put and passed—bill read a second time.

On the motion of Mr Tehan (Minister for Education), by leave, the bill was read a third time.